GPS Question

Reaction score
Hi All,
I just received a SOLO today to set up for a friend of mine. So far everything has gone very well. What is the typical time for one of these to acquire enough satellites to enable motor start ? I am a high time Phantom2 pilot, and familiar with the flight controls and whatnot. The initial cold start for the GPS out of the box was about 5 minutes to lock, which correct me if I am wrong seems to require a lot more than 7 satellites to enable motor start.
I am trudging around the iPhone app because my supported iPad, isn't. Annoying, but anyway.
Is there any decent documentation on the app itself anywhere ? I have not been able to get any deeper on the app than the first level stuff, no advanced settings or anything like that. Can someone point me in the correct direction?

Overall, I have to say I am impressed with this thing. So far seems to fly well, granted I am just doing hover testing right now, We will see how the distance does. Oh yea, where do I turn off the height and distance limits? I know, I know but I want to fully test this thing out before I hand it over to its owner.

Thanks

Last edited:
Turning off the "height" and distance limits would not be a recommended move.

You can adjust the default relative ceiling altitude from 150' so long as you understand that depending on your location, doing so might put the Solo in harm's way.
Setting it any higher than 400' could cause the Solo to be confiscated for violating controlled airspace.
I can't understand any reason for doing so.
(Note that these altitudes are relative to your launch altitude, not absolute altitudes.)

I'm not sure what you mean by turning off the distance limit.
Turning off the distance fence would allow the Solo to fly out of its controller's range.