Antennas/Software Newbie Questions Post

Reaction score
Hello all-

Been reading here for a few days/weeks now. There seem to be a ton of good people here and lots of knowledge. I have seen some great content from the experienced guys. I am completely new to Solo and well, Drones. I did a lot of research online and finally 'landed' on the Solo. So here I am and so are many other it appears. I did fly RC planes for a while (back before they all went electric) but NOTHING like this awesomeness. In reading a lot of the post, I see topics referred to but sometimes not explained very well. (A necessary evil of forums I have found, no one's fault.) My goal with this post is to ask a few of the questions I have come up with in the hopes of getting the more experienced guys to answer in one place, that is also useful to newbies that have next to 0 prior knowledge. Lets face it. These things are so awesome that total newbies can just jump and jump in the deep end, but this leaves a gap.

First Question: Extending the Range? I have seen two apparently leading contenders FPVLR and DBS. I think the links are:

FPVLR
https://fpvlr.com/store/product/3dr-solo-basic-kit/
DBS
https://shop.trycelery.com/page/itelite_dbs_phantom_plus

I have seen other suggestions but these seem 1. to get the experienced guys excited and 2. have all the testing, all others seem untested.

Can we get a list of the pros and Cons of each?

Second Question: 'Other Software' is the only way I can describe. There are several reference to 'Flight Planner' and 'Towers', something to read the logs and a few others. Having said that, being totally new at this I have no clue what they do or why I should get or worry about them. Except...that I know I do because so many of you experienced guys do. I did find a flight planner software at http://ardupilot.com/downloads/ but to be completely honest I have no idea what this is or how to work the dang thing. Again, completely new, no teacher in sight.