3DR Solo Performance at High Altitude, Cold, Snow and Wind

WCN

Reaction score
I have owned my 3DR Solo since the middle of September, but this is my first time to post. I have used this site many times as resource and have found some great information that I have put to use. For example, changing the Preset A button for Manual control. That was a lifesaver for me, if you continue to read on.

I am a risk taker. That being said, I decided to test the limits on the 3DR by taking it with me to Colorado and even further, by testing it in the mountains while snowmobiling. I knew that the potential for great shots far outweighed the risk of losing or damaging the drone.

Here is what I was able to capture:

To view this content we will need your consent to set third party cookies.
For more detailed information, see our cookies page.

I have a few takeaways from flying the 3DR in relatively extreme environment.

First, ALWAYS bring someone to help you manage the equipment. Operating in the snow, the biggest enemy was the moisture. In order to juggle all the equipment (backpack, batteries, viewing device, controller, drone, GoPro) you need an extra set of hands just to help manage the equipment. I had someone with me and it was a lifesaver. I know it's common sense, but not really something you think about until you actually need that other person to help manage everything.