1st Flight.......Finally!

Reaction score
After waiting since May 7th for my Solo, today I finally get to set it up. I have been flying MRs for 3 years, primarily FPV and AP. Started with a large hex (Streak 800) and more recently a Tarot 680 and TBS Discovery Pro. So the Solo is the first one that I didn't put together my self. But I have to say, I was impressed. I know a few others felt the controller felt cheap, but I thought it was pretty good and felt good in my hands (coming from a Futaba 14SG).

At lunch I plugged in the battery. After work I started the update process. On mine it took about 15 minutes to do the update. I know I have seen posts where they didn't wait long enough and interrupted it and started another time or 2, but I just left it alone. Got an LG 8" android that will only be used for the Solo. After the update, it did the level calibration, and then I assigned A to stabilize and B to manual. I took the props off and checked it out on the bench. It still hasn't been outside yet but I noticed it had 8 sats and a HDOP of 1.9. A good sign! Everything seemed to be working as it should so I took it outside. I put it in Stabilize mode and got the expected stick warning (must be all the way down as it will now fly as a traditional MR). It only took about 30sec to get the needed sats and got the OK to FLY. Held the Fly button and the props started right up at an idle. Raised the throttle to mid point and it smoothly lifted off. Right off the bat, this thing was exceptionally stable! On my other MRs, I had to dial them in to get them to fly this nice. It was very smooth to all input, but definitely a little soft for me. Landed and adjusted the slider up for more response. Took off again in stabilize and that made a lot of difference. Especially the throttle response, it really had some great power now. and much better response from the input of the sticks.