Solo Motors seemed to stop.

Reaction score
Hii,

I notice on the forum that their appears to be issues with 2.4 and solo losing altitude. From what I can gather this is when take off is in FLY Msnusl and then when GPS acquired.

I have a different scenario, I am a newbie with less than 40 mins flying, I take off in FLY made and always wait for GPS lock. So any way I was flying SOLO and had a RTH instigated due to low battery. I'm aware this is correct.

At about fifteen foot high the battery was at 7% and the motors almost cut out but then picked back up and landed successfully. It was enough of a stumble to concern me and move further away until the land completed.

Is this normal, should I be concerned? Could it be possible that SOLS was thinking it was at ground level and then corrected itself?

I have not had chance to fly since as it always to be raining when I have chance to go out. I have started the motors without props, no real reason other than to see what would happen when trying to fly whilst stationary, I mention this because, are the logs stored on previous flights or is just the latest flight

ShaunD

Hi Shaund, and welcome. I don't know if that is normal, but I never let my battery get that low in flight. A good rule is to always land with around 20% of battery left. The battery power drops super fast when it starts getting below 25%. I believe taking it as low as 7% could really be a potential problem. Also, discharging the battery to zero could cause permanent damage to the battery. Even though it cuts into an already short flying time, I try to land with 25% battery just to play it safe. I hope this helps, and safe, happy flying to you.

Reactions: RichWest
I've read you should condition Li-Po batteries when new, at least through the first 5 to 10 chargings. During that period you shouldn't run below a critical point of say 20 to 25%...I believe it was mentioned to nothing lower than 30%