Welcome to 3DRPilots.com

Sign up and join the largest 3D Robotics drone community!

  1. matt-solo

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2017
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    I recently upgraded my wireless cards in my Solo and controller. I followed the instructions of a few tutorials I found online and used this wireless card: MikroTik 802.11b/g/n 2GHz 800mW MiniPCI-Express Wireless Card

    After putting everything back together, I started up the Solo but it wasn't connecting to any satellites. One step I wasn't sure if I followed correctly was reattaching the transmitter and receiver to the wireless card since it wasn't clear in the tutorial or on the card. I'm thinking they are either both correct or both incorrect, but not just one. I went back and swapped the connections on both wireless cards, but still get no satellite connections.

    Everything else seems to function correctly. Controller and drone are connecting, GoPro is streaming, etc.

    I have two questions I'm hoping to solve:

    1) Any ideas on what would be causing Solo to not connect to any satellites?

    2) Is there any way to confirm/test if the transmitter and receiver are hooked up correctly? The stock cards used J2 and J3 connections, while the card I replaced used 200 and 201 labeled connections.
     
  2. speatuk

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2015
    Messages:
    397
    Likes Received:
    105
    Double check the gps connection plug.
    The wifi cards are just communication between solo, the controller and tablet/phone you are using. The wifi has nothing to do with gps lock.
     
    noob-flyer 79 and pyrate like this.
  3. noob-flyer 79

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2017
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    4
    Do your cards have R11e-2HNd as the model number?
     
  4. matt-solo

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2017
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes, that is the model number for the new wifi cards I'm using.
     
  5. matt-solo

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2017
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    I thought that was the case. I did checked the connection on the GPS plug, but it was secure on both ends.

    I ended up taking everything apart and putting it back together, following the instructions closely. After a few tests, I was able to start acquiring satellites, but still getting weird behavior. Initially I was getting 4 satellites, but wasn't getting a lock and wasn't able to fly. I fly from this location normally and usually get 6+ satellites in a couple minutes at most. After more tweaking of connections and testing, I was starting to get up to 6 satellites but the number would fluctuate and I was going in and out of satellite lock... it would show the "Hold FLY to start the motors", but 10 seconds later it would go back to searching for GPS, 30 seconds later it would reconnect and then disconnect again shortly after.

    Eventually I got to the point where I got satellite lock (or so I thought) and started it up. Shortly after take-off I noticed the Solo was unresponsive to my controls... I would try to fly left but Solo would jolt forward or to the right and seemed to have a mind of it's own. It ended up flying into a tree and taking itself down (luckily from only a few feet off the ground).

    Not sure what I screwed up, but something is definitely off. Still pretty new to drones, so appreciate any help you/anyone can offer.
     
  6. DaveB

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2017
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    11
    After you removed the bat. & gps cover did you remove the GPS wire from the cover or main board and when you did remove it did you pull on the wires are did you release the lock clip?
     
  7. matt-solo

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2017
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    I removed the GPS wire from the main board by releasing the lock clip and left the GPS wire connected to the GPS unit/battery tray (not sure of the proper name). I made sure not to remove any of the individual wires and tried to put as little strain on the connections as possible. I've since re-checked this cable a couple of times and can confirm both ends are/were locked into place.
     
  8. speatuk

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2015
    Messages:
    397
    Likes Received:
    105
    Have you changed the gps module?
     
  9. matt-solo

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2017
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    No, I'm still using the stock GPS module with the new wireless cards I installed.

    I previously did a modification to the GPS module by adding a spacer between the GPS module and the black/copper cover that comes installed over it. That was about a week ago. I did some testing after that update and it cut GPS lock time down from around 3 minutes previously to under 90 seconds, with no issues connecting or maintaining a connection (although can't say I had extensively testing this on it's own...).
     
  10. DaveB

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2017
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    11
    It just has to be the GPS, check the pin's to see if bent and the plug's for a pin pushed back
     
  11. Maddog

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2015
    Messages:
    3,335
    Likes Received:
    880
    Location:
    Phoenix, Az
    I agree with Dave- gotta be something that got messed up during the card install.
     
  12. Craig L. Johnson - USMC

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2015
    Messages:
    137
    Likes Received:
    24
    Location:
    Mccordsville, Indiana
    did you remove the GPS wire in one of the legs out? take it out when you replace the wireless card?
     
  13. Craig L. Johnson - USMC

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2015
    Messages:
    137
    Likes Received:
    24
    Location:
    Mccordsville, Indiana
    if you did make sure that you have put it back the same way that it was facing from the factory. I ran into this problem myself. if you did, and you cannot remember which way, there is a little circuit card in the leg on the wire, just turn it around so that it is facing out.
     
  14. andrew.baker.142

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2016
    Messages:
    541
    Likes Received:
    130
    Location:
    Southern Maryland
    The compass is in the leg, and it is important that it is reinstalled in the original orientation
     
  15. Pedals2Paddles

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2016
    Messages:
    2,220
    Likes Received:
    1,203
    This sounds like you have a complete crap A version GPS. If you're measuring time to lock in minutes, nothing you tinker with in there is going to fix it. You need this Solo GPS Shield V2 - 3DR to replace the useless copper shield.

    Or by an mRo GPS.
     
    speatuk likes this.
  16. lnelson15

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2017
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    2
    Shield V2 and mRobotics module.
    Results: averaging 21 satellites and HDOP 0.8 and lower. Definitely worth the investment.
     
  17. mrreddog

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2017
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    4
    But he had it working before new wifi cards, somethings not right here?
     
  18. RichWest

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2015
    Messages:
    1,969
    Likes Received:
    966
    Location:
    Chouston, Tejas
    Sounds like the antenna connection in Solo is not properly installed or is damaged, ufl connector.