Pool application

Reaction score
I work in the pool business and I have an idea to use some type of drone with a camera to measure the dimensions of a pool filled with water. This would be used to find the inside dimensions of the pool and allow for precise measurements to replace a liner. This is a link as to how it currently done.

To view this content we will need your consent to set third party cookies.
For more detailed information, see our cookies page.

If I had a drone that I could fly over the pool and take a picture using markers in the corners. Anybody have any ideas?

I work in the pool business and I have an idea to use some type of drone with a camera to measure the dimensions of a pool filled with water. This would be used to find the inside dimensions of the pool and allow for precise measurements to replace a liner. This is a link as to how it currently done.

To view this content we will need your consent to set third party cookies.
For more detailed information, see our cookies page.

If I had a drone that I could fly over the pool and take a picture using markers in the corners. Anybody have any ideas?
Hmmm. You might be able to do this with photogrammetry, but I doubt it would be accurate enough. Here is a recent tutorial I came across.

Converting a video to georeferenced 3D model tutorial (Agisoft PhotoScan, Sputnik GIS) | GeoScan

Would pix4d do that? I've never used any of the mapping/3d stuff, but if I remember in some video it said it could estimate things like the volume of mounds of dirt, etc., which is basically the opposite of measuring a void like a pool.

I would imagine the lens distortion could be an issue, parallax. But then like you said placing markers to reference the perimeter could provide a better accuracy. A dimensional accurate target referenced within the photo would provide an ability to scale the distances between the markers.