Newbie with some questionst got my

Reaction score
I've been flying drones since 2012, but this week, I just received my Solo with Gimbal. I've done the updates and should be ready to fly except....

1. No image from GoPro Black 4. No control over the settings, can't trigger it, etc. It is on firmware 3.0. Solo and controller are 2.1.0

2. Do I need to balance these props. I didn't with my DJI 2, but I've seen some rumblings here bout this. Is the Gimbal fast enough to compensate?

These are my issues tonight. I'd really like to fly tomorrow am as a test.

1.try turning on the gopro, then solo then controller.when powering up
2. its recommended to balance your props to minimise vibes I'm flying with props out of the box right now and don't see any issues

What @mudman said.

The props are probably fine. Good enough for you to get started. But yes they need balancing for best results.

So on the GoPro, here are some things to trouble shoot:

Make sure the GoPro wifi is OFF. It causes interference and you never ever want it on while flying.

One of the first things you should do is confirm the GoPro works. Shoot some video and see if it is capturing. Second, try hooking your GoPro HDMI out up to a TV if you have the right cable. If you can't get a live feed to your TV, then something is wrong on the GoPro side of things.

Assuming it checks out, then follow the startup order @mudman said. Sometimes I get lazy and startup in a different sequence, but if I encounter problems with the GoPro feed, then I power everything down, including my tablet and do this:
1. Power on GoPro
2. Power on Solo
3. Power on Controler
4. Power on tablet and connect to Sololink wifi
5. Launch Solo app

Still having problems? Then I go into the Solo app, click into the camera settings and change the camera type to a different model and then back to the Hero 4 black.

If that doesn't work, uninstall and reinstall the Solo app.

Try those things and report back.