how far do you fly / can fly / want to fly?

Reaction score
I am new to this

I plan to fly often out doors in nature ...

so I guess I could use the range ... BUT do you really want to fly it that far away?

does that really open up a lot more?
can you really see it from there? to control it?
or get OK reception?

there is a limited charge on it ... say 20 minutes (few extra just in case)
so at say 40MPH - in 10 minutes would be be 6.6 miles away before I need to return

hmm perhaps it's worth it?

because I was going to get the 3DR Solo - it has a range of "half a mile"
- https://news.3dr.com/solo-specs-just-the-facts-14480cb55722#.opyft2xfm
I guess this is quoted range for open unobstructed outdoors - can't hope for more?

I am thinking of getting a Mavic
Max Transmission Distance FCC Compliant: 4.3 mi (7 km);
Mavic – Specs, FAQ, Tutorials and Downloads

Phantom 3 Standard
What is the range on my Phantom 3 Standard?
The signal transmission distance will vary depending on environmental conditions and local regulations, but the Phantom 3 Standard can reach distances of up to 0.5 miles (1 kilometer) away from the pilot.
- Phantom 3 Standard - Specs, FAQ, manual, video tutorials and DJI GO - DJI

Phantom 3 Pro
Max Transmission Distance Up to 5 km or 3.1 miles (unobstructed, free of interference) when FCC compliant
- Phantom 3 Professional - Specs, FAQ, Tutorials, Downloads and DJI GO - DJI

please advise - I am all ears ...

thank you

For US only.
https://www.faa.gov/uas/media/Part_107_Summary.pdf
  • Visual line-of-sight (VLOS) only; the unmanned aircraft must remain within VLOS of the remote pilot in command and the person manipulating the flight controls of the small UAS. Alternatively, the unmanned aircraft must remain within VLOS of the visual observer.