Welcome to 3DRPilots.com

Sign up and join the largest 3D Robotics drone community!

Firmware Links

Discussion in 'GoPro/GoPro Gimbal' started by fabian29907, Jan 7, 2017.

  1. fabian29907

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2016
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    New Solo AND GoPro owner here going through so much information my eyes are going nuts, rainy and cold this morning :(.

    Forgive me if I missed it in my research but does anyone know where or maybe themselves have available older GPH4B firmware?

    I picked up a 4 Black that currently has v3.0 and didn't want to experiment with higher versions unless I had the older ones to revert back to.

    Thanks

    Mike
     
  2. Don H.

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2016
    Messages:
    432
    Likes Received:
    72
    I spoke to the folks at GoPro yesterday at CES. They told me it can be found on their website. I have not confirmed this. You can do a search on this site and find a link to it. A friend of mine just downgraded his GPH4B yesterday based on what he found on this site.

    Don.
     
  3. SARDG

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2016
    Messages:
    1,440
    Likes Received:
    478
    Location:
    SWFL
    If it is on the GP site, it was just added. Previously, their stance was that they don't approve of downgrades, won't share the downgrade, AND it may brick your camera. Of course, we know the latter not to be true.

    At any rate, there are several links to v3 FW on this forum so the OP can spend about 5 minutes and easily find it with the search function.
     
  4. Maddog

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2015
    Messages:
    3,052
    Likes Received:
    790
    Location:
    Phoenix, Az
    Recently, someone posted here that they have the v5 firmware and everything works fine.

    Of course, now I can't find it.
     
    #4 Maddog, Jan 7, 2017
    Last edited: Jan 7, 2017
  5. SARDG

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2016
    Messages:
    1,440
    Likes Received:
    478
    Location:
    SWFL
    That is, if you are okay with reduced FOV at some resolutions and with powering on GP manually prior to flght.
     
  6. Stephen jennings

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2016
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    6
    True but you gain linear FOV at 2.4k the trade off is not the best but maybe invest in two GP4 so you can get the best of both worlds. also I hate the fact that If you make any changes from linear in the app then you must pull gopro in order to change settings back.
     
  7. speatuk

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2015
    Messages:
    148
    Likes Received:
    29
    i have v4.0 if you want it.
    i have just downgraded my GPH4B from 5.0 to 4.0 with no problems.

    let me know and i will send it to you.
    :)
     
  8. SARDG

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2016
    Messages:
    1,440
    Likes Received:
    478
    Location:
    SWFL
    Don't forget,.ya' have to go back to v3 for auto-power.
     
  9. speatuk

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2015
    Messages:
    148
    Likes Received:
    29
    oh yes, i did.

    funnily enough i still have that version too.
    i never delete anything,
    :)
     
    SARDG likes this.
  10. SARDG

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2016
    Messages:
    1,440
    Likes Received:
    478
    Location:
    SWFL
    Me either... but just like my mind, storage is good, retrieval... not so hot.
     
    Joe Horn, Chuck and speatuk like this.
  11. speatuk

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2015
    Messages:
    148
    Likes Received:
    29
    my deleted folder is like 15gb lol

    buttttt......
    i have now uploaded them to my google drive for saferer keeping lol
    oh and they are easier to find too lol

    thanks again for the heads up i did forget about that.

    lol
     
  12. Chuck

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2015
    Messages:
    1,096
    Likes Received:
    476
    Location:
    Bakersfield, Ca. U.S.A.
    C'mon, SARDG.....Learn to use the search function.....:p
     
    Brendon Baddiley and SARDG like this.
  13. spartaHawk

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2016
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    7
    I'm unable to find older firmware on the GoPro site. The only page I could find when searching for downgrade firmware is this Downgrading Your HD HERO2 Camera Software | GoPro Support

    There are links to all firmwares in the description of this youtube video, and the commenters seem to verify that they work. Still I would prefer finding the links officially on the website.
     
  14. SARDG

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2016
    Messages:
    1,440
    Likes Received:
    478
    Location:
    SWFL
  15. spartaHawk

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2016
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    7
    Okay, here are all the GoPro firmwares available for download. For now I think might be only for the Hero 4 but I could be wrong. http://bit.do/goproupdates
     
    #15 spartaHawk, Jan 9, 2017
    Last edited: Jan 9, 2017
  16. spartaHawk

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2016
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    7
    If they did just add older firmwares to their site, they've removed them again as far as I can tell. Are you able to find them, rather than just saying to go to the site? Check for yourself and post the link to the page.
     
  17. SARDG

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2016
    Messages:
    1,440
    Likes Received:
    478
    Location:
    SWFL
    The links are not on GP site, they are on this forum. I no longer do the legwork and searching for info I don't personally need, but you may use the search function and find them. I remember the links being posted several times
    .
    ETA: I don't believe you read post #3.
     
  18. SARDG

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2016
    Messages:
    1,440
    Likes Received:
    478
    Location:
    SWFL
  19. spartaHawk

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2016
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    7