Finally I'm ready fo fly but my GP 4 silver doesn't turn on

Reaction score
Sorry if this has been talked about here but i couldn't find the link. Anyway I tried everything but my GP 4 will not not turn on. I have the solo gimbal and set everything as per manual. I see the blinking green light and I can tilt the go 4 thru my transmitter. But it's not on as in no video feed. Everything works ok except it's not turning on. Am I missing something? But I can manually turn on the go 4 and I'll have video feed. But I do know that when you turn on everything- solo transmitter and the bird it should turn on the GP 4 automatically. But not happening. Sorry newbie here. Thanks guys.

Just turn it on first. I sometimes need to not only turn it on, but also press record before attaching to the gimbal. Otherwise i sometime get an error where it will only record for like 45 seconds and then turn off.

What FW version do you have on your GoPro? If it is higher than 3.0 it will no longer turn on automatically when you turn Solo on.

You will need to power it on manually after you place it in the gimbal and power up Solo.

The comments above are correct. The newer versions of GoPro firmware has broken the remote power on capability, but just turn it on BEFORE powering on Solo. Everything else should work fine from that point forward.

I have the solo gimbal and set everything as per manual. I see the blinking green light and I can tilt the go 4 thru my transmitter. But it's not on as in no video feed. Everything works ok except it's not turning on. Am I missing something?

Yes, my GoPro 4 Black does not automatically turn on when I power up my Solo. After starting my Solo and transmitter, I have to manually press the power button on my GoPro to turn it on. After that, everything functions properly, like starting and stopping recording, as well as other camera controls.