Can't get video to work..any ideas?

Reaction score
I have read about getting video to work...i must be missing something.....im open to suggestions...
Thanks

What does this mean? You have a gimbal? GoPro 3, 4, or ???
Running Solo on iOS, Android, and on what?
What kind of basic diagnostics have you done so far?

hello...thx for your response...i have solo gimble,gopro 4 silver w/screen with android on a S6 edgeplus....im new to the solo so im not sure how to diagnose.ive done the updates,ive read on different post of a certain order of turning things on and ive tried several ways...
the red record/stop button/ light comes on and works and records to gopro and can watch on gopro aft flight...i hope i gave you enough info..thanks again for any ideas..

I had a similar issue on my first flight with a solo, camera was recording but I'd only get a black screen on the live feed on the phone. Found that switching to 1080P, 60 FPS and Medium FOV fixed it. Then I was able to go into the settings on the app to adjust. Also, make sure the HDMI cable is properly seated by pushing it in firmly. Sometimes it's easy for it to be loose and not have a proper physical connection.

Hopefully it is as simple as Davesavalance suggests. If not then I think I'd go through a full step-by-step:
  • Verify that the GoPro HDMI is working (plug it into a TV for example).
  • Remove the gimbal. Then remove the props. Plug the HDMI out of the GoPro directly into the HDMI cable on the Solo, power on the controller, the camera, and the Solo. Connect through the Solo App, hit the "Fly" button on the app and see if you've got video. (Hope I'm remembering this correctly .. maybe it is only called "Fly" on the Solex app?. You get what I mean).
  • If still no video then you may have to remove the battery tray to check if the HDMI cable on the Solo is properly seated in the mother board.

Hopefully it is as simple as Davesavalance suggests. If not then I think I'd go through a full step-by-step: