Another newbie here...

Reaction score
Hello everybody.

Like many others I also got myself a 3dr solo over the weekend with the next buy promotion. I was shopping for drones for a while and when i saw that price i had to jump for it.

I haven't open it nor any of the accessories mainly because of the camera connection that i been reading here at the forum.

When i read about the gopro integration i never tought that was more an exclusivity and you cannot use the gimbal with other cameras like sjcam or off brands, i found some 3d prints to modify the gimball and install a few pocket cameras on the drone but they won't provide fpv.

My plan is to use my cameras with a second tablet and get the fpv that way and a phone or tablet to get the solo app.

Question... can i control the gimbal from the remote/ app even if there is no camera detected??

Wondering if the WiFi of one and other device would diminish the range of them??

Is there an aftermarket software that could allow me to use

Welcome :)

I havent tested it, but there's no reason why the gimbal control wouldnt work regardless of gopro being installed (other appear to have done it)

I wouldnt recommend using wifi of a camera device in addition to the Solo. In theory if they were operating in non-overlapping channels it would 'work', but the desensitisation factor of two radios being so close together would reduce your range.

The biggest issue of using non gopro cameras is triggering the shutter/video. There are some pwm converters out there that work with some cameras (eg Seagull #MAP2 - Seagull UAV or sLED v2 Sony RC Shutter for A7,A7R,A6000,Nex-5 and others - Flytron), but require a little tinkering. I'm going to have a crack at installing a NEX-5 onto my second solo using one of these, but it'll be fixed mount, not gimbal.

I know it's frustrating that the Solo itself is now cheaper than a Hero4 black * sigh * but it's plug and play and easy to get started with.