Yet another newbie?

Reaction score
Hello all!

I hope that this is not a 100000000x repeating question :)
I am a total newbee in drone flying or any remote flying for that matter. I am now trying to do some research into what drone might be a "good fit" for someone like me.

Some requirements that I think are important
  • I would like a little more flying time than the average 8 mins that I read about
  • I want to be able to easily swap batteries
  • First person view mode (can be optional as an addon later on, since i want to be able to fly withing visual range first)
  • Some lights would be nice (just optical)
  • Easy to find spareparts /extensions
I have some budget available, but of course I do think that it would be wise to start with a "normal" drone and not a golden one ;-)

All advises are very welcome!

Best regards

Guardian87

Pending on your budget there's a ton of options, you can get a 3dr iris setup with everything for Half what it was last year, without a gimbal or camera about 500 bucks, so equipped less than a grand and it's nice. There's also the dji offerings if your not worried much about support and the standard p3 is about 700 bucks all in up to 12 or 13 hundred for a pro.

Solo will be closer to two grand with gimbal and GoPro, unless you own one already, 1400 maybe a bit less for copter and gimbal. Solo and p3 are both easy enough to fly, solo can be upgraded where p3 pro will be cheaper now, but you'll need to buy a new one to upgrade in the future. There's a bunch of others, Yuneec makes some winners, if you give us a budget and what your planning to do with it you'll get a better list of what would be good for you.