WILL MY GOPRO HERO 3+ SILVER WORK WITH GIMBAL?

It will, but you will not have full functionality. I do not know exactly what those limitations are, but I suspect they have something to do with the control of the camera itself and not the control of the gimbal.

From the 9-3-15 manual
Streaming video compatible with GoPro® HERO 3, 3+ or 4
Full compatibility with GoPro® HERO 3+ or 4
iOS 8.0 or later / Android 4.3 or later

As of right now, no, it's completely broken. Here's the e-mail I just sent to 3DR support:

I got my Solo gimbal yesterday and was overjoyed - until today, when I actually tried to use it. I did all the updates - the Android app, the Solo/controller, and, prompted by the message on the Solo app, the firmware on my GoPro Hero3+ Silver. Before the GoPro update I at least had working video streaming. I assumed the firmware update (to version 3.02) would mean I would get full functionality. Instead, here's what happens:

1. Video streaming does not work at all now
2. Every time I even attempt to use the GoPro with the Solo, the GoPro locks up hard, requiring me to pull the battery out to reset it

Also, I read the help info in the Solo app regarding the camera firmware update message and found that the Hero3+ Silver is barely supported at all, even under the best of circumstances. It would have been REALLY NICE to know that before I spent hundreds of dollars on a GoPro that I have absolutely no use for other than the Solo.

So my questions are: Is the Hero3+ Silver ever going to work at all? If so, WHEN? My Solo is next to useless to me without a camera. And to get full control over the camera, do I need to buy a Hero4 or will the Hero3+ ever be fully supported? Mostly I just want to be able to trigger video recording and still photo taking. If I do have a buy a Hero4 to get full functionality I'd rather know right away so I can just do that and be done with it.