Why would I want fisheye - for profit?

Reaction score
Hi,

I have two 3Drs with GP4 Blacks, and I plan to upgrade at least one with a PEAU 3.97 lens and software upgrade. I am not a professional videographer, but why would I want to have fisheye if I were a videographer?

Thank you

OK, so far fish-eye is just a novelty as far as I can tell. I just cannot find value in the fisheye lens for the 3DR solo other than a wide angle.

fish eyes are for fish. my personal opinion, i don't want it and don't need it. I have never had a production where we needed it, in fact if we used it it would have been embarrassing for our needs a production. when last did you see a gopro look on any famous artist. ? just saying. imagine these images with a fish eye? NOPE
To view this content we will need your consent to set third party cookies.
For more detailed information, see our cookies page.
I use a gopro to set up shots and story board sequences ...for example. even if you use the footage...correct it

Last edited:
I guess it is a marketing thing ... I plan to upgrade both of my GoPros with Peau lenses and have the software upgraded.

fish eyes are for fish. my personal opinion, i don't want it and don't need it. I have never had a production where we needed it, in fact if we used it it would have been embarrassing for our needs a production. when last did you see a gopro look on any famous artist. ? just saying. imagine these images with a fish eye? NOPE
It is used all the time in multi million dollar professional tv and movie productions. It has it's time and place like anything else. Just because you don't like it doesn't mean nobody else does.

Reactions: DJMc and MrDuino
sure...I must have missed that in this big production.
so just because you like it doesn't mean that every one else should like it. same to you. unless you think you filming in outerrr space with your drone = then i will be sure to call you for some art direction.

Last edited: