Using 3rd Party gimbals on a Solo?

Reaction score
Just ordered the Best Buy geek squad "refurbished" Solo. No gimbal supplied. Hope the software will work with my Samsung phone. It should arrive tomorrow.
I was wondering if I could put another gimbal on the solo. I have a cheap STorm 32 3 axis gimbal that I know I can hang below the solo, but is there any way I can control the gimbal tilt using the solo connections to the gimbal. The gimbal requires standard PWM, so is there a way to get a PWM signal to the gimbal? I have a degree in electrical engineering, and familiar with about every operating system out there.
By the way this is my first 3DR product but I own several other quads, Yuneec, Hubsan, DJI. I have searched the forum for any topic about tying a 3rd party gimbal to the solo and haven't found any info. The worse case is that I can hook up the gimbal and use it without any tilt with a cheap action cam with HDMI output. I see that as long as the camera has a HDMI out, it should work. I am wondering if some one out there has tried different gimbals with success.

Thanks in advance for help
Doug
W5DUG (ham radio call sign)

Just ordered the Best Buy geek squad "refurbished" Solo. No gimbal supplied. Hope the software will work with my Samsung phone. It should arrive tomorrow.
I was wondering if I could put another gimbal on the solo. I have a cheap STorm 32 3 axis gimbal that I know I can hang below the solo, but is there any way I can control the gimbal tilt using the solo connections to the gimbal. The gimbal requires standard PWM, so is there a way to get a PWM signal to the gimbal? I have a degree in electrical engineering, and familiar with about every operating system out there.