Tower Application

Reaction score
Question: Has anyone used the Tower app. to perform a survey operation from start to finish. If so I'm curious as to who in the cloud you uploaded the Tower information to for processing.
I'm considering using Tower and Solo to earn some revenue if it works out to be cost effective. Any insight would be greatly appreciated, thank you..

Tower works great for this, but I prefer Mission Planner. You will need to carry a (PC) laptop with you, but it is way more powerful.
It's not like you are gonna hike in to somewhere to do a (paid) survey mission anyway!

Yes, I'm in the United States, an presently hold a FAA Part 107 certification. Since I have no real experience with Mission Planner at present. Once you create a plan and fly the plan, is there anyone you could recommend to upload the data/preameters with for processing. Or is a software program like Autodesk for example something I should look into. Thanks,

Pix4D is a software package you can purchase and download to run on your PC. It has a free trial period. Drone Deploy is SaaS entirely online. They have a free tier for hobby use, but it just makes maps you can look at online, nothing advanced. The paid tiers have all the services. Both are very powerful and both are very expensive so be ready. There's probably a few others, but I couldn't name them.

The GoPro doesn't geotag the images. Any of the mapping software will require geotagged images to function properly. So you need to use something like Geosetter to tag the images. You feed it the images downloaded from the GoPro and the dataflash log downloaded from the solo, and it spits out tagged images. Mission Planner can also Geotag images, which is what I've used. But geosetter apparently does a better job.,

Reactions: andrew.baker.142