Tarot gimbal for Solo drone

Reaction score
I found out that you can get a gimbal mount for the Solo for the 3 ax tarot gimbal. I want to know if you will be able to control all the functions of the gimbal from the controller. Also can you receive video from any other camera besides GoPro. I am a complete newbie to the drone world and need lots of help. Thanks

the solo mod club on face book has several people flying Zcam e1s to gopro 5s
I will be trying to adapt a walkera g-3s to my DIY flying a solo IMX6 on a Pixhawk 2.1 DIY

The answer is no.
There is no Mavlink control option for Tarot gimbals. Any other gimbal than the original 3DR is a major DIY project. There are many people working on third party gimbals but none are a plug and play solution.

Mavlink not required. Any conventional gimbal with conventional pwm pitch control will work just fine in both normal flight and smart shots.

The solo gimbal is required for GoPro control. With any other gimbals, you have to turn the camera on and start recording before you arm for take off. There is no gopro control without the solo gimbal.

Live video will work with any gimbal and camera as long as the camera has a compatible micro HDMI port. You need your own flexible HDMI ribbon cable to plug directly into the camera.

Reactions: Ralph E. Johnson
Mavlink not required. Any conventional gimbal with conventional pwm pitch control will work just fine in both normal flight and smart shots.

The solo gimbal is required for GoPro control. With any other gimbals, you have to turn the camera on and start recording before you arm for take off. There is no gopro control without the solo gimbal.

Live video will work with any gimbal and camera as long as the camera has a compatible micro HDMI port. You need your own flexible HDMI ribbon cable to plug directly into the camera.