Solo Battery Gang Charger Help...

Reaction score
OK I think I wore out google looking for others and the Solo Gang-charger solution! I have read lots on the 3dr SOLO battery, and im NOT a Total NOOB when it comes to LiPos.

Heres what we know:
Smart battery: 4s 14.8v 5200mAh LiPo with balance circuitry built in the battery.
Power Supply is a 16.8v 3.3A Power Supply. (Thats all this is, just raw power, no smarts here...?)

What I measured on a battery after flight (Landed bird at 30% as per the APP):
SOLO Factory Power supply NO LOAD: 16.66v
WITH LOAD: 15.27v @ 1.4A

What I have: SEC1212 (12volt 12amp supply)
I happend to have one of these kicking around (my work is a dealer so I have lots of these on hand! :) ):
LINK: 10 Amp 120VAC to 12VDC Power Supply Switching | SEC-1212

I also have schematics for this Supply. VR2 Pot Adjusts the output Voltage, Therefore,
I adjusted the voltage adjustment pot to 16.8v and attempted to charge the battery with yellow MALE SPADE connectors (for now until I finish proof of concept). The battery senses the power is there, turns on and begins to charge... then shuts down, reboots battery and starts all over in a loop. (I presume to much voltage.) So i turned the voltage down to 16.2v While under load. Battery remained charging....
If I measure the current from my SEC1212 supply, the battery is taking a charge @ 3.14A!!!
When I measure the current from the 3dr Supply, the battery is taking a charge @ 1A and the voltage drops down to 15.27v Like I said above. WTF? Maybe I am a noob on LiPos!!

This is where I fall down, Why cant/doesn't the 3dr supply keep the voltage up at 16 like its rated for? Or is this supply smarter than I thought and it drops to battery voltage and slowly increases? Thus taking f o r e v e r to charge these packs.

Im hoping the community can help out a bit.

My end goal was/is to use this SEC1212 as it should be able to charge 2 of my batteries at once. It can handle constant 6Amps if needed no problem.