QGC & Open Solo

Joined
May 6, 2016
Messages
25
Reaction score
2
Age
46
I run a UAS program and teach about data acquisition and analysis at a university. I have a small fleet of Solos most still running 3DR firmware. I'd like to switch over to Open Solo and I'm wondering if it is possible or if anyone has used QGroundControl with Open Solo?

Last year for this class I had students using Tower and it appears that Tower is not only no longer being developed/supported it is no longer available in the Play Store. Yes, I do have Solex (with Missions and other add-ons), but I am just wondering about QGC at this time.

Thank You
 
  • Like
Reactions: Arny58
Joined
Feb 8, 2017
Messages
123
Reaction score
37
Age
58
QGC always connects flawlessly on Open Solo, but I've never used it for flight. The great advantage is that it has both IOS and Android versions.

I believe Tower has morphed into another app and I forget the new name...
 
Joined
Mar 12, 2016
Messages
3,661
Reaction score
2,452
If you're using the stock cube with the archaic ArduCopter 3.2ish firmware, there may be some things QGC doesn't like because that firmware is so old. If you're using the green cube with more modern ArduCopter versions, QGC will certainly be fine. And if you jump on the ArduCopter 3.7 beta with Open Solo, you will be even better with no green cube required.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Arny58 and Wetstone
Joined
Feb 3, 2019
Messages
14
Reaction score
0
Age
61
You can use the replacement for Tower. It's called Mission Maker for ArdupilotScreenshot_20190301-120316_Google%20Play%20Store.jpeg
 
Joined
Feb 7, 2018
Messages
16
Reaction score
0
Age
58
I run a UAS program and teach about data acquisition and analysis at a university. I have a small fleet of Solos most still running 3DR firmware. I'd like to switch over to Open Solo and I'm wondering if it is possible or if anyone has used QGroundControl with Open Solo?

Last year for this class I had students using Tower and it appears that Tower is not only no longer being developed/supported it is no longer available in the Play Store. Yes, I do have Solex (with Missions and other add-ons), but I am just wondering about QGC at this time.

Thank You
 
Joined
May 6, 2016
Messages
25
Reaction score
2
Age
46
If you're using the stock cube with the archaic ArduCopter 3.2ish firmware, there may be some things QGC doesn't like because that firmware is so old. If you're using the green cube with more modern ArduCopter versions, QGC will certainly be fine. And if you jump on the ArduCopter 3.7 beta with Open Solo, you will be even better with no green cube required.
Pedals - Unfortunately I don't have the time or money to upgrade this fleet to GC. Is the 3.7 beta available through Solex's update functions?
 
Joined
May 6, 2016
Messages
25
Reaction score
2
Age
46
Following up, and perhaps I should start a new thread...Regarding Mission Maker for Ardupilot...has anyone used it with stock firmware or Open Solo? If so, did it connect via UDP? I receive the same error using both stock FW and Open Solo...Connection failed: bind failed: EADDRINUSE (Address already in use). Any help is appreciated.
 
Joined
Mar 4, 2019
Messages
20
Reaction score
2
If you're using the stock cube with the archaic ArduCopter 3.2ish firmware, there may be some things QGC doesn't like because that firmware is so old. If you're using the green cube with more modern ArduCopter versions, QGC will certainly be fine. And if you jump on the ArduCopter 3.7 beta with Open Solo, you will be even better with no green cube required.
Is the 5v signalling mod necessary on a stock cube to use AC 3.7 beta to operate safely?
 

New Threads

Members online

No members online now.

Forum statistics

Threads
11,923
Messages
139,813
Members
13,783
Latest member
bassanamit5