Newbie...Most Important Initial "Additional" Items for 3DR Solo?

Reaction score
Hello everyone...

Well, I snagged one of those eBay specials. The kit comes with standard props, battery, etc. and standard GPS (not sure if it's the latest version, but hoping so). I am pairing it with a GoPro Hero3 White for right now until I can afford a cam upgrade for more cam/drone functionality.

I plan to eventually use the UAV for commercial use. I am an experienced R/C plane operator. But never had a decent drone.

I thought some experienced guys might tell me if I need any immediate hardware upgrades. etc before beginning the learning process of operating. I will also need to probably update to latest firmware, etc.

I am using an iPhone 6Plus right now as my monitor/link, but do intend to find a decent iPad Mini 4 or so with 10.3 or earlier on it to use (I saw that 11 will probably not be supported as Solo is no longer in business).

I do not have a gimbal at present, but is that the most important thing to learn on? I saw several posts about GPS problems, and looked up the upgrades mentioned. Hopefully I can fly it out of the box, but maybe I need some other things. Extra Props from the get-go? Other things?

Any help from the pros on here? All input is appreciated, and valued.

Thanks so much!
Kevin

PS: Currently studying for my FAA UAV (107) Pilot License. I plan to take that test asap. Thanks!

Gps definitely
Grab the Here or MRO
A set of alphas for improved distance
And Richs gimbal isolation
User names humble cable

Now if you want to go all in
Update to the green cube and arducopter firmware

Reactions: Thumper
Gps definitely
Grab the Here or MRO
A set of alphas for improved distance
And Richs gimbal isolation
User names humble cable

Now if you want to go all in
Update to the green cube and arducopter firmware