New Solo WIth Problems...

Reaction score
Hi 3DR Pilots,

I am a new 3DR pilot but not new to drones. With the great prices and already owning a GoPRo we have jumped in.

With our first bird we are having some issues.
  • On one of the first flights it flipped while landing using the fly button. It was about 6 inches off the ground. It said 'fly manual' quickly as it flipped. Guessing it lost GPS? Other than a little dirt on the blades it was fine
  • While flying it has twice tried to land immediately on its own. It just starts descending. I can still control it but couldnt make it increase altitude. Luckily I just pulled it back fast to home and then when it was close I had full control. The signal strength was fine both times it did this (~50%) on the stock atennaes.
  • Today was the most frustrating. When I was landing today, in FLY (GPS mode) but manually landing, the solo refused to power down and instead powered up. Battery was around 25%. I touched down and then it started to spool up and I manually controlled it back into the air. It did this THREE times, you can imagine I am starting to worry as I can't get this thing to stay down. And then the fourth time I tried to use the automated landing and it again touched down and then shot up and flipped over. Grinding propellers into asphalt (it ran for a couple seconds) . And then the pleasant lady tells me "crash detected"... umm thanks
I have sent logs off now to 3DR. Has anyone had issues like this? I have no programmed 'fly:manual' and 'fly:stabilize' as my A and B buttons and will land and take off in manual from now on.

Any thoughts on things we can try? Sending off to 3DR would be a tough option as I travel 90% of the time (currently in Panama) and my windows back home in the USA are so short.

Reactions: algojo
I think I have seen this post a few times already. There is always a new name for the thread starter but the post itself is nearly always identical.