New Solo Owner near Charlotte NC

Reaction score
I'm a new solo owner in North Carolina outside of Charlotte (I live at Long Island Airpark on the northwest side of Lake Norman). Yep, I have already notified the airpark declarant about my drone flights as living on an airpark means my backyard is most definitely within 5 miles of an airport. (the declarant is my neighbor down the runway, lol).

Years ago I was heavily into RC helis and planes, but mostly gave up the hobby after getting my pilot license. This time of year the weather is not great for flying a motor glider or seaplane, so I have been toying with getting a drone.

I saw the 3DR Solo at Best Buy, got curious, and googled it. After realizing it runs Linux and has some development options (I am a computer scientist and software engineer), I decided to go ahead and buy it despite some of the range and GPS issues I saw discussed(I figure I can upgrade the GPS and add a WiFi extender based on the posts in these forums).

Looking forward to flying it and communicating with other owners!

Welcome, shanmoon. I want to come visit you. I am a huge NASCAR fan, and a lot of the drivers live on Lake Norman. You live in the heart of the sport. Good luck to you, and fly safe.

Welcome Shannon! I'm in North Carolina also, just south of Winston-Salem. Have fun with your Solo. They are a lot of fun to fly.

I went down to Charlotte last night to get one of the 3DR backpacks and extra props and baterries while they were still on sale at Best Buy