Welcome to 3DRPilots.com

Sign up and join the largest 3D Robotics drone community!

  1. ZACKDADDEE

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2017
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm at my wits end...I've searched this group, YouTube, 3DR Pilots Forum, just about everywhere I can think of to solve why my Solo gives out the low battery warning no matter which battery I have in it, I have 5 batteries. Some batteries are fully charged some are at the recommended storage level, but the battery level displayed in Solex for all the batteries shows 99% with 0.4V/0.3A.

    I've tried a factory reset and nothing!! I hope I don't have a fancy paperweight.

    Is there hope for me or am I just plain screwed?? HELP!!!

    TIA
     
  2. Derriell

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2018
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    40
    Hi

    this does happen if the capacity of the battery is less than 2500mAh or so. I dont know the exact number. Or maybe it has another cause.

    What you could do is power up your Solo and read with Tower app or MissionPlanner the parameters of the Pixhawk in Solo and read the parameter BATT_CAPACITY. This will tell you the mAh of the fully charged battery.

    After doing this with all five batteries post the results here. Maybe a recalibration of the batteries helps to get higher and accurate mAh.
     
  3. jerryn

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2017
    Messages:
    209
    Likes Received:
    55
    Location:
    South Eastern Massachusetts
    It appears you run the batteries too low.

    The only possible way would be to remove the battery pack view the lipo rehab videos on YouTube. Note the fire tisk.
    Buy a smart charger like the Tiger Ace.
    Setup an area outdoors in in a location in you basement where a potential fire won't spread.

    I recovered a 3000mah battery that I use in my HK CloudSurfer using this method. I already owned the smart charger.

    If I didn't own one I would just buy a battery.
     
  4. USMC86

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2017
    Messages:
    818
    Likes Received:
    319
    A new battery for $30 is a lot cheaper than a visit to the psychiatrist-
    Save yourself some mental anguish and spring for a new battery and see if this solves your issue.
     
    JBAlaska likes this.
  5. jimloss

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2017
    Messages:
    325
    Likes Received:
    181
    Location:
    Chicago area
    Problem was solved by a parameter reset.
     
  6. David Boulanger

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2016
    Messages:
    924
    Likes Received:
    260
    Location:
    Naples, FL
    To my knowledge BATT_CAPACITY does not read the capacity of a battery but is a parameter preset with the capacity you are flying so a determination can be made of how much you have left in the battery while flying. I believe your information is not accurate. I think BATT_CAPACITY should be 5200.
     
    #6 David Boulanger, Apr 16, 2018
    Last edited: Apr 16, 2018
  7. ZACKDADDEE

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2017
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank you all who took the time to read and reply. I did a paramater reset in Mission Planner and this corrected the issue. Thanks again.
     
  8. Derriell

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2018
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    40
    Yes it does. At every boot it reads from the smart battery the remaining capacity and writes it to the parameter BATT_CAPACITY on the Pixhawk.

    Interesting, what might have cause the issue.
     
  9. David Boulanger

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2016
    Messages:
    924
    Likes Received:
    260
    Location:
    Naples, FL
    Complete Parameter List — Copter documentation. No. It has never been that way. This is preset depending on the rated capacity of the battery. Been that way for 6 years or more. More than likely the BATT CAPACITY parameter was changed as it should be 5200 for a Solo
     
  10. David Boulanger

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2016
    Messages:
    924
    Likes Received:
    260
    Location:
    Naples, FL
  11. Derriell

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2018
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    40
    I know. But I am right. At least with my Solo. What I did:

    1. Power on Solo
    2. Read parameter BATT_CAPACITY (in my case 39xxmAh) with MP
    3. Change it to 5200mAh
    4. Refresh the parameters and check that it changed
    5. Power cycle Solo
    6. Read the parameter again and I found that the parameter showed 39xxmAh again
     
  12. David Boulanger

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2016
    Messages:
    924
    Likes Received:
    260
    Location:
    Naples, FL
    Leave it at 5200 with a stock battery. I'm out.
     
  13. Derriell

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2018
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    40
    It does not work like that because the stock battery will have less capacity over time. If it were always at 5200mAh that would be very dangerous and a lot of crashes would happen. Please do the steps above and you will see.
     
  14. David Boulanger

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2016
    Messages:
    924
    Likes Received:
    260
    Location:
    Naples, FL
    Last time. The parameter for the Solo should be 5200. The battery then reports to the Algorithm to determine the percentage of charge. Keep in mind the battery reports its best idea of its capacity to be calculated and give the Solo and its user the percentage of battery left. READ THE DOC'S.
     
  15. Derriell

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2018
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    40
    This is getting too stupid.
     
  16. David Boulanger

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2016
    Messages:
    924
    Likes Received:
    260
    Location:
    Naples, FL
    Not really. Just trying to help you.
     
  17. Derriell

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2018
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    40
  18. David Boulanger

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2016
    Messages:
    924
    Likes Received:
    260
    Location:
    Naples, FL
    No. What does this have to do with anything. Out for the final time. I tried to help you.
     
  19. Derriell

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2018
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    40
    There I encountered exactly this "problem" with the BMS and batteries with more than 5200mAh. Thank you I dont need your help.
     
  20. David Boulanger

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2016
    Messages:
    924
    Likes Received:
    260
    Location:
    Naples, FL
    Just set the BATT CAPACITY to what the expected MH capacity is of a dumb battery is and you will be in the ball park. Do it all the time with my boat and large heli. The algorithm uses Voltage to make a lot of decisions.