Welcome to 3DRPilots.com

Sign up and join the largest 3D Robotics drone community!

GoPro Hero 4 black/silver Firmware V5.0

Discussion in 'GoPro/GoPro Gimbal' started by gtpiratez70, Oct 21, 2016.

  1. gtpiratez70

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2016
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Palm Beach Florida
    HERO4 Black/Silver update v05.00 | Oct. 21, 2016

    HERO4 Black/Silver update v05.00

    Highlights

    • Highlights:
      • Enables Karma compatibility.
      • Adds Linear FOV.
    Karma Compatibility

    • Enables live preview and camera control from the Karma Controller,
      including starting/stopping recording, changing settings, and more. Enables camera control from the Karma Grip. To learn more about Karma, visit gopro.com/karma.
    Linear FOV

    • Linear field of view (FOV) captures video without the traditional
      wide-angle look, for even greater creative flexibility. Available only for 2.7K and 1080p video.
    This update is finally available to download on the gopro website but I haven't tried it yet. just wondering if anyone one else has tried it yet and if so how does it work with the solo app or solex app?
    edited: Here is the link of the update i downloaded from the gopro website. Link
     
    #1 gtpiratez70, Oct 21, 2016
    Last edited: Oct 21, 2016
  2. SteveReno

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2015
    Messages:
    1,892
    Likes Received:
    839
    Location:
    'Sparkling City by the Sea"
    The "Linear FOV" should be problematic for people who are using Custom or Upgraded lens.
    Like any Peau Lens.
    I'll try it as soon as i can secure a GPv3. & GPv4. updates.
     
    gtpiratez70 likes this.
  3. pyrate

    Joined:
    May 4, 2015
    Messages:
    4,134
    Likes Received:
    1,617
    Location:
    Frisco Texas
    No need for it all on a modded lens. It's a software. Correction that could never rival an optical solution
     
  4. RichWest

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2015
    Messages:
    2,151
    Likes Received:
    1,035
    Location:
    Chouston, Tejas
    What? Programmers tell me they can fix anything in software....;)
     
    Perry Lawrence likes this.
  5. Perry Lawrence

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2016
    Messages:
    229
    Likes Received:
    82
    Location:
    Dunedin, FL
    Linear is not available via Solo app. Hope Solex can add some of these new features! Please???


    Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
     
  6. pyrate

    Joined:
    May 4, 2015
    Messages:
    4,134
    Likes Received:
    1,617
    Location:
    Frisco Texas
    yeah I been hearing that all week (new system)
    I was one of those people who knew how to shot in medium FOV 2.7k and crop down to a 1080 frame and have very little fisheye. Was not a believer in the flat lenses,
    Until I got one
     
  7. franknitty69

    Joined:
    May 7, 2015
    Messages:
    619
    Likes Received:
    492
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    unfortunately, adding new gopro features to solo and and downstream software (3rd party apps), is a two-step process. first gopro must add the commands to the hero bus api (which they won't). next 3dr must add the commands to solo as well as drone kit (which they won't), now these new commands will be available to 3rd party apps.

    the hero bus is deprecated and there is no reason for them to allocate any resources to keeping it current. the current sdk is via wifi and ble only. the usb-c protocol is similar to the hero bus, is private...GoPro only. and 3DR is enterprise only, so obviously no additions even if GoPro updated.
     
  8. Perry Lawrence

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2016
    Messages:
    229
    Likes Received:
    82
    Location:
    Dunedin, FL
    Makes sense. Planning on getting the 3.97mm.


    Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
     
  9. David Boulanger

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2016
    Messages:
    281
    Likes Received:
    58
    Location:
    Naples, FL
    I have a 4 black stock and a 4 black with the peau 3.97. I never use the stock one anymore. Maybe i'll upgrade the FW in the stock one or get a peau 5.4.
    Regards,
    David R. Boulanger
     
  10. wsalopek

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2016
    Messages:
    143
    Likes Received:
    19
    What happens if you use the camera controls to set the FOV to linear, and then hit "record" on the Solo app. Does the camera record in linear?
     
  11. wsalopek

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2016
    Messages:
    143
    Likes Received:
    19
    I partially answered my own question.

    I changed the setting on the camera, then plugged the camera into the gimbal. The Solo app, which was running at the time (the Solo and the radio were also running and all connected), changed it's display to reflect the change I made in the camera.

    What I don't know, is what the Solo app will do when it "sees" a setting on the GoPro to which it has no equivalent.

    --

    Bill
     
  12. mattshup

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2016
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Eagle Butte, SD
    So i've heard that the 5.0 firmware on the GoPro's sometimes works with the Solo and sometimes doesn't. Does anybody run 5.0 on their GoPro's with the Solo? Don't want to risk updating to something that doesn't work with the drone.
     
  13. wsalopek

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2016
    Messages:
    143
    Likes Received:
    19
    Matt...I updated to 5, and while I can't swear that every little thing works, yes, it appears to work just fine...except...I can't figure a way to choose the "linear" FOV...I guess 3DR has to make that happen with the Solo app, and I guess there is doubt as to whether that will happen.

    --

    Bill
     
  14. Anmol

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2016
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    1
    Does the setup work if you have the Linear FOV selected in the menu before connecting the Hero 4 to the Solo and using the Solo app ?
     
  15. Quinn

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2016
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Trout Valley-IL
    yes, set it as default startup using the go pro app- then The option is only available for 30 FPS at 2.7K, and up to 60 FPS at 1080p. also search this forum for "linear". much discussion on the subject.
     
  16. wsalopek

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2016
    Messages:
    143
    Likes Received:
    19
    Yes it does. I tested by turning the GoPro on, setting it to 2.7k/30 linear, plugged the camera into the gimbal, hit record on the Solo app (this also works if the camera is off when placed in the gimbal, and was set as default to video when powering up)...and yes indeed, I got a recording in linear. I could switch back and forth between photo and video, and linear video mode persisted. However, as soon as I changed any video setting...changing FPS or resolution...I could not get back to linear mode in the Solo app.

    --

    Bill
     
  17. nomad33fw

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2016
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    3
    I updated my camera and now it will not automatically turn on anymore. I am looking for a way to downgrade back to 4.
     
  18. gtpiratez70

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2016
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Palm Beach Florida
    firmware v3 was the last one that did auto turn on
     
  19. spartaHawk

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2016
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    8
    Sorry if I missed it already being mentioned, but is there a fix for the GoPro not powering on via the gimbal anymore?
     
  20. Chuck

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2015
    Messages:
    1,222
    Likes Received:
    525
    Location:
    Bakersfield, Ca. U.S.A.
    It all depends on which GoPro you have and what version software it is on. My 3+Black does not power on with Solo, but will power off with Solo. My Hero4 Silver will power on and off with Solo, and it is running v3.0. If I update the Silver to the latest firmware, it will lose the power on function. For now, I am leaving it at v3.0.
     
    JB Slimp likes this.