Gimbal seems to be dead

Joined
Nov 7, 2018
Messages
11
Reaction score
0
Age
29
Recently bought a gimbal, connected up, have checked and rechecked connections but gimbal doesn’t have any life. No flickering light, no green led, no red led, nothing.

Any help would be amazing. Thanks
 
Joined
Jun 18, 2015
Messages
2,900
Reaction score
1,515
Location
Chouston, Tejas
Maybe just have a faulty gimbal....

Check that the data/power cable from the main board doesn't have any broken leads. You'll need to remove the battery tray to inspect properly.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Dash Hewes
Joined
Nov 7, 2018
Messages
11
Reaction score
0
Age
29
Maybe just have a faulty gimbal....

Check that the data/power cable from the main board doesn't have any broken leads. You'll need to remove the battery tray to inspect properly.
Taken it all apart, connections all seem fine. However still not registering. Got this on the app: IMG_3489.jpg
 
Joined
Jan 22, 2017
Messages
186
Reaction score
75
Location
Australia
Website
www.robertpower.com.au
Have you been flying the solo before you got the gimbal ? You may need to do a factory reset on the solo with the gimbal installed. Look in the user manual on ow to do a factory reset.

Do a search on this forum, I do remember seeing a post about solo not recognising the gimbal.

If this doesnt work you may have a faulty gimbal
 
Joined
Jun 18, 2015
Messages
2,900
Reaction score
1,515
Location
Chouston, Tejas
Taken it all apart, connections all seem fine. However still not registering. Got this on the app:
If the gimbal is not powering up then Solo sees nothing, so the screen shot is correct.

Personally I think it is between the gimbal back to the main board in Solo. If power was getting to the top half of the gimbal, then you'd have some feedback at least from the yaw motor...I think..

There is a power/data ribbon cable underneath the Gimbal main board. If that is dislodged then I would expect the lower half to be dead, it may affect the whole gimbal, not sure. This link will give you some photos of the ribbon and connector connected, it is the connector labeled J3 - Gimbal - Exploded View , 4th photo maybe

If you bought a used gimbal you may have gotten someone's mistakes. Plenty of crap out on eBay and maybe a few here as well...buyer beware.
 
Last edited:
  • Like
Reactions: Robpower
Joined
May 9, 2017
Messages
1,155
Reaction score
470
Age
39
I'm positive you're correct @RichWest on the gimbal playing dead if the data cable is disconnected from the top board - remember, the IMU is on the lower [GoPro connector] board. The potentiometer readings are also communicated across that data cable. If the IMU isn't present and the potentiometers aren't able to be read, the micro doesn't know where the unit it is in space and will [rightly] refuse to power the motors.

[That is some theory mixed in with my recollections from playing with a hundred or so gimbals]
 
Joined
Feb 8, 2017
Messages
120
Reaction score
36
Age
57
Make sure you fully plug in both the hdmi and the power cables. That was my problem with same symptoms.
 
Joined
Jan 25, 2019
Messages
1
Reaction score
0
Age
23
Have you used it before? If this is your first time using it and it doesn't work anymore. You can box it and bring it back to the supplier who provided you the Gimbal.
They have a warranty on all products they sell, so they will fix it. But I think you should return your refund. You can re-select a trusted GoPro gimbal brand.
 
Joined
Jul 22, 2018
Messages
14
Reaction score
11
Age
56
I bought used guaranteed functional gimbal off of EBay to have a spare (my original gimbal worked). When I plugged it in and power up the Solo the gimbal's status light was red. No amount of fiddling with the connectors would correct it. I contacted the seller and returned it. I got a 100% refund and bought another one off of EBay and it has worked flawlessly.

I recommend you buy from a seller with a good rep and has a return policy.


- Mike
 

New Threads

Forum statistics

Threads
11,807
Messages
138,950
Members
13,607
Latest member
Maraben