Fpv??

Reaction score
hey guys, first of all I am a newbie to the solo. Thinking of purchasing one to replace my phantom that I recently sold. Originally I was going to build my own flame wheel hex with all of the bells and whistles that I wanted. But now the solo has my attention. I wanted to get some opinions from some of you that have had a solo for a while.
First of all, can you use a "fat shark" fpv system on a solo? Also, what are the pros and cons of the solo? Thanks in advance guys!

Oh yeah, and what is the max range out of the box?

Thanks Gary, how would I hook the fat shark system into the solo? And any idea what kind of range I would get with the fpv?

You hook it up to the usb mini on top end of controller. No idea on range. Depends on signal. Solo gets about half a mile range with low wifi interference .
I use fpvlr antennas. It will tripple your range.

Ok great, thanks. Where can I find those antennas and how much would it cost roughly?

Antennas: The FPVLRs are the best. You can also get them with amps for crazy range.

For goggles, you can hook up any googles to the HDMI out port on the Solo controller. The FatSharks might be overkill as they also have their own radio which you don't need but I don't know of anything better (disclaimer: I'm not familiar with the entire fatshark range of products. Maybe they have a model without the radio gear since you'll be using HDMI), . Maybe look into the zeis cinemizers as well.

The better Fatsharks come with HDMI inputs that connect to Solo controller. These are also the ones that do not have any RX modules inside. If you wanted to use them for analog quads then you need to buy the rx modules separate. Dominator V3 and Dominator V2 HD have HDMI inputs and no analog rx.