First crash :/ will this effect my warranty?

Reaction score
Hi guys new to the group and to flying Solo. I've been a phantom 3 pilot for about 2 years with no crashes. I flew my Solo today in very fast mode...that was my first mistake, I didn't realize quite how much faster/responsive that would make my drone. I also flew through some tree cover which caused me to loose some GPS signal and I noticed slightly erratic flying like it couldn't hold position very well. I was trying to get the bird back to me when I made a wrong turn which was just enough in fast mode to fly it into a tree. Luckily I was only a few feet off the ground and not going very fast. I have to say I am impressed with the durability of the drone. As soon as it crashed I held down the fly button to turn off the props. I found it on its side in the bushes...doh!!! I was expecting to find a broken arm or landing foot or damaged gimbal or GoPro. To my surprise the only visible damage was a small chip in one of the prop blades. I changed out the prop, gave the drone a good look over for anything else broken or scratched. All looked good! The Gimbal and everything else seems to function normally with out any issues. I put the speed back to medium and brought it to a safe location to test fly at low altitude. Everything went well and I think I got very lucky that nothing worse happened. With all that said will this impact my warranty if I ever have an issue? I mean if 5 months from now the bird just drops out of the sky or decides not to boot up will 3dr say the crash has voided my warranty? The app asked if I wanted to create a ticket and I said no because the drone seemed to work fine.
I actually plan to upgrade my GPS to the Mro gps which I already purchased. I know that will void my warranty but I was kinda hoping that if the drone ever did take a crap I could just install the OEM gps back in and send it in for repair if still within the year. Thanks for the feedback!

Last edited: