Do I need Solo and Solex App

Rsn

Reaction score
I'm new to drones and was just wondering if the only thing I need the Solo app for is to calibrate for level and compass or does Solex take care of this also. I bought Solex but haven't flown with it yet. I was also wondering if there is a Solex Manual that's available for download. I went to the Solex site and briefly looked at the manual that was only available for viewing online.
While I'm asking stupid questions, I was wondering if anyone has problems using a tablet in sunlight or overcast days. I have a Fire HD 8, turned up the display brightness to full and can barely see what's on the screen on a overcast day. I ordered a sunshade but was wondering if the more expensive tablets had better display for viewing outdoors.

Thanks in advance...

Reactions: tpsharkey
Compass and level calibration are actually not in Solex at this time. So you do still need to keep the old 3DR app for that. You also need the 3DR app to do the initial pre-flight firmware updates. Beyond that, Solex does everything better.

Reactions: Rsn
need is a powerful word
in the strict sense, you dont need either to fly solo
But to control the camera and do smart shots you need the App minimally
If you want to fly missions like tower, and or any number of other great features, like controlling leds, saving and sharing smart shots, logging, running custom scripts, flying custom flight modes, flashing new firmware (cube only) then Solex is the only way to get there. The solo app is frankly pretty weak compared to solex.
Not to mention, Solex is still being actively developed and improved upon.

Compass and level calibration are actually not in Solex at this time. So you do still need to keep the old 3DR app for that. You also need the 3DR app to do the initial pre-flight firmware updates. Beyond that, Solex does everything better.