Charging GoPro battery

Reaction score
I am new to this so it might seem like a simply question. I thought I had been told that the solo would charge the gopro battery when they are connected. I am I correct. If so mine does not seem to be doing that.
I appreciate any help.

Welcome to the forum, Doug. Yes, Solo charges the GoPro battery during flight. That is so the camera doesn't run out of juice during a shoot. If your camera battery was low to start with, it could be that Solo didn't have enough time to make a noticeable difference. Try charging the GoPro battery fully before your next flight, and then check it again afterwards. It should still have plenty of charge left. It also wouldn't hurt to invest in 1 or 2 more GoPro batteries, and rotate them every few flights. Good luck to you, and fly safe.

Reactions: Steve Langford
From what I've gathered and experienced over the last several months is that Solo is more of a GP battery "sustainer" and shouldn't be counted on to actively charge GoPro. Trying to begin your flight-days with a full GP battery will eliminate any unwelcome surprises.

If you're using a GP4 with FW 3.X, then GP will only be on when Solo is on, giving you potentially a perceived better GP battery life as by default, there will be no GP power without Solo power.

Reactions: FinniKris
It's actually none of the above. The solo powers the GoPro directly. The GoPro's battery is not charged, discharged, or maintained. There are two different power inputs to the GoPro. One is as described above. The other would indeed charge the battery, and that is not used.

It's actually none of the above. The solo powers the GoPro directly. The GoPro's battery is not charged, discharged, or maintained. There are two different power inputs to the GoPro. One is as described above. The other would indeed charge the battery, and that is not used.

So a GoPro without a battery in it at all will still work when flying in a Solo? That'd be cool. Every ounce counts.