Welcome to 3DRPilots.com

Sign up and join the largest 3D Robotics drone community!

  1. psantia23

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2018
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    hello, does anybody knows if there is an alternative gimbal even 2 axis that fit on the solo ?
    and can be controlled with the radio controller?
    i do not need go pro camera controls....

    thanks
     
  2. pyrate

    Joined:
    May 4, 2015
    Messages:
    4,652
    Likes Received:
    1,933
    Location:
    Frisco Texas
    lots of folks have added storm32 gimbals to solo and have them working with Smart Shots
    Not sure how much here, but on the solo mod club there are a few
     
  3. psantia23

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2018
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    ok thanks i guess it s not ready to fly i mean probably needs some new wires for the drone
     
  4. pyrate

    Joined:
    May 4, 2015
    Messages:
    4,652
    Likes Received:
    1,933
    Location:
    Frisco Texas
    ?
    No several people are using tarot and good luck buy gimbals. I think there is someone on here thinking about offering a harness
     
  5. EZL

    EZL

    Joined:
    May 24, 2017
    Messages:
    200
    Likes Received:
    29
    Location:
    Central Illinois
    Drone Worship has been working on a gimbal alternative and his modifications can be viewed
    on YouTube. He also added links to the offbrand gimbal, HDMI cable and other items. Like all
    mods using offbrand gimbal, the cabling can look like a rat's nest. Here's the YouTube link:
     
  6. XevetS

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2016
    Messages:
    1,032
    Likes Received:
    328
    Location:
    Somewhere in the Beautiful Nature Coast of Florida
    This has been covered a 100 times here on this forum, he didn't explain anything on how to get smartshots working? Its only a 2d gimbal they used, I'm sure the footage sucks...did they ever follow up on this?...
     
    #6 XevetS, Jun 14, 2018
    Last edited: Jun 14, 2018
  7. EZL

    EZL

    Joined:
    May 24, 2017
    Messages:
    200
    Likes Received:
    29
    Location:
    Central Illinois
    Drone Worship followed up with this setup about a week ago with a video. There is no gimbal that has a
    Hero Port like the 3dr gimbal so forget about smart-shots. I don't know why fellas are worrying about
    taking pics (smart-shots) when you have a wealth of images to pick from embedded in the video which
    takes just seconds to extract. His video with the gimbal and cheap camera:
     
  8. EZL

    EZL

    Joined:
    May 24, 2017
    Messages:
    200
    Likes Received:
    29
    Location:
    Central Illinois
  9. XevetS

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2016
    Messages:
    1,032
    Likes Received:
    328
    Location:
    Somewhere in the Beautiful Nature Coast of Florida
    Well actually you are wrong smart shots are something entirely different from taking pics, From the manual
    "Smart Shots Solo’s four different Smart Shots automate flying Solo to make it easy to get stunning aerial video. By default, Cable Cam and Orbit are assigned to the controller’s A and B buttons. Use the app to access Selfie or Follow. Smart Shots are available only with the Solo app. Tip: When using Smart Shots without a Solo Gimbal, Solo cannot ensure that the subject is in the frame at all times. If this is the case, you can improve the chances of keeping the subject in the frame by adjusting the camera mount so the camera is fixed at an appropriate angle".

    The goal for some in adding a 3rd party gimbal is to use said smart shots without the need for a (becoming more rare by the minute) 3DR gimbal, I did this myself 2 years ago with a Storm32 based gimbal (60 dollars shipped) I mounted a Sony Actioncam' I had but have yet to get the SmartShots working correctly...I have to manually tilt the gimbal but it does do smartshots...
    The only vid I have posted while I was PID tuning.

    IMG_20180312_150405.jpg
    IMG_20180312_150345.jpg
     
    #10 XevetS, Jun 15, 2018
    Last edited: Jun 15, 2018
  10. EZL

    EZL

    Joined:
    May 24, 2017
    Messages:
    200
    Likes Received:
    29
    Location:
    Central Illinois
    The camera and setup is good but the problem with the 3sdr Solo gimbal is it is proprietary to the GoPro cameras with that Hero Port on
    the back of the camera and gimbal. The camera you have as far as I am concerned is a far better camera than the GoPro cameras. The
    Storm32 gimbal is a good gimbal and there are several reviews where it was used on other quadcopters. The gimbal far better than the
    cheap Chinese gimbal that was shown in the video that Drone Worship used. I had big problems with one that was similiar to his with a
    X380 and don't trust them now. The GoPro camera functions are using the Hero port on the gimbal and I have tried several different
    cameras on the X380 and I think that the GoPro cameras are way overpriced for what they are and usually Sony products are a class
    above their competitors. Everyone has a opinion and whatever works for you is the best choice and doesn't hurt to experiment!
     
    XevetS likes this.
  11. XevetS

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2016
    Messages:
    1,032
    Likes Received:
    328
    Location:
    Somewhere in the Beautiful Nature Coast of Florida
    The Sony camera is what I had at the time, I could not justify buying a go-pro for what I was doing i.e. taking crappy videos, but I will tell you that a Go-pro hero 4 black and the 3DR Gimbal setup is the way to go, its seamless..and affords great looking video.

    I do have a Green-cubed Solo with the 3DR gimbal setup and I prefer that over the Sony Storm32 setup...

    I purchased an original 3DR gimbal from BestBuy for $34.00 way back when, and a refurbished//New Hero4 black for $139.00 shipped directly from GoPro.....Yeah I'm Frugal...
    8541.jpg
     
    #12 XevetS, Jun 15, 2018
    Last edited: Jun 15, 2018
  12. EZL

    EZL

    Joined:
    May 24, 2017
    Messages:
    200
    Likes Received:
    29
    Location:
    Central Illinois
    It's easy to insert a GoPro into the 3dr Solo gimbal but I have a gripe with how to get the video and images
    off of the cameras. I have a cheap Git1 camera on a 3dr Solo gimbal and it's quicker and easier to get
    the videos off of the camera. I also have a GoPro that I put on the gimbal and I'm not impressed with
    the GoPro cameras. I think a GoPro would be hardpressed to beat a Sony!
     
  13. EZL

    EZL

    Joined:
    May 24, 2017
    Messages:
    200
    Likes Received:
    29
    Location:
    Central Illinois
    Look at the prices on the 3dr Solo's gimbal! :( I paid, I thought too much, $80.00 new for my 3dr gimbal and they are
    ridiculous in price now!
     
    XevetS likes this.
  14. XevetS

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2016
    Messages:
    1,032
    Likes Received:
    328
    Location:
    Somewhere in the Beautiful Nature Coast of Florida
    It does beat the Sony I have as far as Raw video 4K versus 1080P but the Carl Zeiss lens on the Sony is a bit better aside from the massive fish eye effect
     
  15. EZL

    EZL

    Joined:
    May 24, 2017
    Messages:
    200
    Likes Received:
    29
    Location:
    Central Illinois
    Try a GitUp Git2 camera, at leat you don't have to remove the camera to get the video off of it,
    just snap the SD card out and insert it into a usb adapter on the computer. :)
     
  16. XevetS

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2016
    Messages:
    1,032
    Likes Received:
    328
    Location:
    Somewhere in the Beautiful Nature Coast of Florida
    You can snap the SD card out without removing the Camera? If so that is better than constantly removing the GoPro from the gimbal to remove the SD card, because sooner than later something is going to break on the fragile 3DR Gimbal
     
  17. EZL

    EZL

    Joined:
    May 24, 2017
    Messages:
    200
    Likes Received:
    29
    Location:
    Central Illinois
    YEPER! Ok, the catch is you have to shim the camera away from the Hero Port which means you end up with a camera
    that is against the GoPro's left camera lock (a camera hold-in lock). Remove that stupid GoPro Green camera holder.
    It's only got two screws holding it but replace them on the gimbal. You will need cardboard shims to ship the Git camera
    away from that Hero socket. Any kind of strap can be made to hold the camera in place. The Git camera can be tilted
    to accept the HDMI connection, do not force it! The biggest trick is setting camera parameters and BALANCING it in
    the gimbal since it is lighter than a GoPro. You have to start the camera recording before every flight and it is the last
    thing to to before a flight. I have posted Git1 settings which are a pain to set in it's menus but the camera will sense
    movement and go into record mode if motion is sensed. The GoPro will auto-start if (One Button) is started at the
    beginning of the flight. The GitUp Git1 is real fickle and will shutoff the video even if you have FPV. :( This is a
    trial and error situation with the GitUp cameras. The gimbal is a great piece of engineering EXCEPT for being
    GoPro proprietary.

    Back to what you asked about the SD card, The GitUp cameras Git1 and Git2 have the SD card slot on the left
    side of the camera (facing you). Easy access on the 3dr Solo gimbal you don't have to remove the camera!
     
  18. XevetS

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2016
    Messages:
    1,032
    Likes Received:
    328
    Location:
    Somewhere in the Beautiful Nature Coast of Florida
    The Git2 is not a bad camera it uses a Sony Exmor image sensor better for low light, but it does cost as much as a refurbed/new Gopro hero4 black nowadays ....
     
  19. EZL

    EZL

    Joined:
    May 24, 2017
    Messages:
    200
    Likes Received:
    29
    Location:
    Central Illinois
    Well, the way I look at it, it's better than damaging a EXPENSIVE 3dr gimbal from the repeated camera extraction to get data off of
    the camera. I am thinking about getting another Git camera even though I have a GoPro.