3DR Solo Customization Advises

Reaction score
Hi Everybody,
This is my first time for me on the community... Thank you all for the very valuable information I found here and in in the ArduPilot...

I ordered a 3DR Solo Drone as part of a plan to play with it, hack it and customize it, and it will be really appreciated if you give me your advises before I build any boards or ordering any sensors...

My plan is to do the following:
1. Replace the stock solo controller by Pixhawk Green Cubes 2.1 (if it didn't come with it already - don't know yet) to be able to use firmware v3.5.x, so how many Pixhawk Controllers I will need?
2. I'm planning to add 6 ultrasonic sensors (8m each) for obstacle avoidance (up/down and 4 sides), so what do you advise? does the controller have enough room to install all of them?
3. I would like to modify the body to make it support landing on Water (and shot under water), the foots will have motor to fold or expand.
4. I would to add 2 back motors/propellers (which will be inactive by default) and to be activated per-user request (when on water surface or when more flight speed is needed) or when a fast air break is needed to avoid collision (I will work run some physics and aerodynamics simulations to see how many motor and where should I place them - I expect two).
5. I will give more control on the GoPro came settings (if the firmware is not supporting some of the major requirements - like exposure, white balance..etc).

I consider this project as an experimentation and learning project, I'm not planning to invest on expensive sensors or body works creation before I get a successful setup first, but I'm excited to know your advises on all above... like, if the factory controllers have enough bins and ports for what I want? Are there any restrictions or complications when adding more controllers (or Arduino boords to be connected to the cotroller)? Does the Pixhawk 2.1 controller run on 5V or 3.3?

Thanks in Advance