What GoPros Can I Fully Use With my New 3DR Solo

Reaction score
I just got a new 3dr solo to replace my backup DJI Phantom FC 40 and wow! This thing is better than my Phantom Vision 2+ at a quarter of the cost I got mine for so many years ago.

I was wondering what GoPro I need to get the functionality out of this unit? Since I am new to this 3dr solo, I would like to get the most affordable GoPro that I can use fully with it?

I see people saying that a 3 Silver+ will not work fully, but some say it will. As of today, a fully updated 3dr with a fully updated GoPro, what is the most affordable, "lowest" GoPro that I can use to its full potential?

Thanks!

PS FIRST POST!!

I just got a new 3dr solo to replace my backup DJI Phantom FC 40 and wow! This thing is better than my Phantom Vision 2+ at a quarter of the cost I got mine for so many years ago.

I was wondering what GoPro I need to get the functionality out of this unit? Since I am new to this 3dr solo, I would like to get the most affordable GoPro that I can use fully with it?

I see people saying that a 3 Silver+ will not work fully, but some say it will. As of today, a fully updated 3dr with a fully updated GoPro, what is the most affordable, "lowest" GoPro that I can use to its full potential?

Thanks!

PS FIRST POST!!
Welcome, iKokomo. The oldest GoPro that is compatible with the gimbal, is the GoPro Hero 3+ Black. That is what I have on my first Solo. The only function that doesn't work, is that you have to power on the camera before Solo. It will shut down when you power off Solo. I have full camera function while in the air. Your other choices are the GoPro 4 Silver, and the 4 Black. I hope this helps, and good luck.