No Video on Phone with Solo App or with Solex

Reaction score
Hello everyone.

I'm a 3DR newb but have been flying rc for over 20 years. Mostly fixed wing and some collective pitch heli (Blade CP). I've been really interested in a 3dr solo for a couple of years and was gifted a 3dr for Christmas from my brother in law. Was totally blown away.

Long story short, I'm having issues getting the video to show up on my connected phone. Ive got a 3 axis gimble and a gopro hero 4 black V3.0. Controller and Solo are running V 2.4.2.

I'm using a Samsung Galaxy Note 2 and had to use Raccoon 3.7 to get the Solo App to install. I can control the camera settings and start stop recording but the video feed is black.

After fiddling with the Solo APP and no luck, I bought and downloaded Solex thinking that it may have been a software issue as my understanding is that the stock solo app is geared more for iOS. After buying and installing Solex, it isn't working either. Same symptoms, I can change camera settings, start and stop recording but have a completely black video feed.

I've tried bypassing the gimble and hooked the hero 4 black directly to the hdmi cable and am still getting a black feed. Doing this locked up my Gopro where I had to pull the battery to get it to turn off.

I've pulled the battery tray in the solo and board to make sure the hdmi was tight at the board connection end as well. All appears to be good.

Hero 4 black is V3.0 and I'm skeptical about upgrading as I though I read somewhere to not go past v3.4 for use on the Solo. Current gopro version update appears to be v5.0...

Not sure where to go from here but I'm thinking I either have a bad hdmi cable in the bird or need to update the gopro. Any suggestions are greatly appreciated.

Welcome, Loner556. By chance did you hook your GoPro directly to a tv or other monitor to eliminate the problem being the camera itself? Just a thought.