No Live Video To App From Gopro

Reaction score
HI! I am new to the 3DR solo and I haven’t really been able to get it to work… i have the gimbal and for some reason the app and the go pro aren’t really connecting. Before i put the gimbal on the HDMI cord wouldn’t show the footage off the app with either of my HERO 4 blacks. I also tried a HERO 3 which worked temporarily.. now that i have the gimbal i am able to control the go pro (start and stop it) but i can’t see the live video and am pretty much flying by line of sight. I have tried re-connecting the HDMI inside the drone and turning everything off multiple times. What else can i do??

Can you connect a micro hdmi cable from the GoPro to a hdmi input on a regular HDTV and get a picture.
Can you connect the micro hdmi output on the Solo handheld control and see the GoPro on the HDTV?
To perform such a test you would need a micro HDMI to HDMI cable.
Something like this.....

https://www.amazon.com/AmazonBasics...1482887123&sr=1-4&keywords=micro+hdmi+to+hdmi
I will try that but I'm pretty sure the gopros HDMI isn't the issue given that I have tried it on 4 different gopros and none of them seem to work... any other ideas?

I understand. I spent most of my working career as a trouble shooter. So I always start at the beginning and move along the chain.
The HDMI out on top of the controller moves you at least half way down that chain.
I am new to the solo also. I have installed a gopro3 black and today I received my hero 4 black and both worked without a hitch. So I know it can work ok.
I assume you installed the gimbal. Number one problem in that area is the interconnecting HDMI micro to Hdmi micro jumper cable.
I couldnot believe what thick and stiff cable they used on a $1300 drone. Really a crappy move by 3DR.
But we have to live with it. There is a $30 cable made by Relish 3d.
Thats what 3DR should of used.
To view this content we will need your consent to set third party cookies.