New Solo-ist!

Reaction score
Hi all.
I just ordered a Solo w/gimbal using the 20% coupon. This is going to be fun!
I have been flying R/C for 40 year. Self-taught @ 10. I fly gliders, helicopters, quads, electric power planes of all types.

I have a year-old QX3 quad no gimbal for my GoPro Hero 3+ BE. Just never was able to get the videos and images I wanted. Looking forward to "almost" autonomous flight using Tower and the Solo app. The videos from the GoPro under the Solo look really good.

I was looking at the other hobby quads like the Yuneec and Chroma. Being able to use my GoPro and the open-source stuff made me make the leap.

It is the 3+ Black Edition.
People on this forum said all functions work with it. The non-black edition doesn't have all of the controls.

Welcome, Ketchup. I, also, have the 3+ Black, and it all works great. I will probably upgrade sometime later on, but for now, why? Safe flying....

Thanks!
I just thought of something...does it come with a holder for phone or tablet? (I see the sun shield is a separate thing. Probably just fabricate one)
Thanks!

So I unboxed the beast last night. I felt like a kid at Christmas! Was giggling the entire time. What a cool piece of tech. (Anyone notice the tones sounded kinda like Close Encounters movie music?)

The first thing I noticed was how heavy it is compared to my Blade QX3!
I got the system all updated, the gimbal installed and the GoPro mounted. I also tested the camera out. Live video is going to be a hoot.

Does the solo battery have a balancing circuit inside of it? I noticed the battery & charger doesn't have enough connections for that. If I can charge it from my other charger this would be great as I can do 4 at a time (only have 2 batteries now)

And the legs...do they think we all fly off of a flat, hard surface? Sure looks sleek, but the clearance from the bottom of the gimbal to the ground is almost nothing. Going to have to make them longer. (I see antennae in a couple of legs.)