mRobotics GPS receiver installed

Reaction score
Hi everyone!

I installed the mRobotics GPS receiver module board today. Got everything put back together fired it up and quickly got 19 satellites LOL. Is that about par for the course? I don't know if that's gonna make a lot of difference but at least I have a lot of off the planet birds helping the Solo.

Sounds about right. Might climb to 21 once you start flying.
I'm new to the Solo. I saw some videos of people putting a piece of cardboard between the connector side of the module in the original copper foil shield shield. What's the purpose of that? Also is the GPS shield version 2 a worthwhile upgrade.

I'm new to the Solo. I saw some videos of people putting a piece of cardboard between the connector side of the module in the original copper foil shield shield. What's the purpose of that? Also is the GPS shield version 2 a worthwhile upgrade.
The cardboard was supposed to improve the performance of the GPS- some said it did, others said it didn't.

If you continue to get enough satellites, quickly, and you don't have problems with GPS accuracy or losing lock, then you shouldn't need the shield. The shield came about to fix the performance of the stock GPS unit that came with Solo.

I would not bother with the cardboard. But, I did go with the v2 of the shield with the Mro. Can't be too careful!

I would not bother with the cardboard. But, I did go with the v2 of the shield with the Mro. Can't be too careful!
I've installed the shield. I get 14 sats routinely and haven't had THAT problem *knocks on wood*. I've considered the Mro GPS but am holding off until I'm out of warranty.

More that is needed to look at is your hdop .4 to .8 is what you like to see. Hdop is the where your accuracy comes in.

Reactions: Maxheadspace
More that is needed to look at is your hdop .4 to .8 is what you like to see. Hdop is the where your accuracy comes in.