It's dead, Jim

Reaction score
So I'm new to drones and the Solo is my first. I finally got it yesterday (pre-ordered it at the beginning of May) went ahead and charged everything up, updated it and generally got it ready for its maiden voyage.

I took it out this morning for a test flight, had a few mishaps but nothing major, shut it down and went to work. When I got home from work, I took it to the park for another flight, powered everything and got nothing from the Solo. No power, no sounds, no LEDs, nothing. Disappointed, I brought it home and tried several times to get it to power up to no avail. Finally, I tried Google and found this thread. Sounded promising so I figured I'd try it out. Did a factory reset on it, and was delighted when the LEDs light up. My joy was short-lived as motor #3 flared up (literally) and started smoking. Unfortunately, I didn't get a shot of the actual flare up, I just removed the battery quickly, but here's the aftermath:

FNI0KHN.jpg

Needless to day, I'm a tad upset, and I've opened a ticket with support. I guess I'll have to wait and see what they'll say.

Welcome to the site. Sorry you found us looking for troubleshooting help.

Reactions: prowler9
Yikes sorry to hear about your experience so far as well. This is the first report I've personally seen of any type of fire. Seems 3dr has been doing a pretty good job getting other bugs or issues taken care of through support or sending new units out pretty quickly.