Help Me Decide

Phantom 3 Advance or 3DR Solo?

• Total voters
Reaction score
Im a beginner and Im looking to purchase my first quad-copter finally. Im on the fence between the Phantom 3 Advanced and 3DR Solo.

Been researching the past week and from I've read:

Phantom 3 Advance Advantage
3DR Solo Advantage

• Better performing quad copter and faster
  • Work in progress, but I feel with more improvements the Solo will be better than the Phantom 3 advanced down the road (Firmware 1.3 update in November 2015 is proof)
  • Im not worried about a newer generation Solo 3DR because the company keeps future expandability in mind in the design/product vs the phantom 1, 2, and 3 where it seems like the last generation gets left behind.
  • Personally I think Solo's APPs are better and have better support
  • the SOLO 3DR is simply more "bad-ass" looking and more of a Man's Toy vs a Kid's
  • Although more expensive to have the quadcopter the way I want it to be. I feel as if I were to buy a Phantom 3 Advanced, I would still be thinking of the SOLO 3DR and feeling the need to have it.

I could be wrong in some areas, but like I said this is what Ive researched quickly in the past week. At the start of my research I was favoring the 3DR more than the Phantom 3. As Ive read a little more I turned away from the 3DR solo as the youtube video reviews were comparing the 2 and favoring the phantom more. As I researched more and more I found that those reviews were outdated and there arent much comparison reviews after the 3DR 1.3 update. Im seeing the 3DR Solo as a work in progress and being better than the phantom 3 pro/advanced down the road. It will indeed be more expensive with the add-ons and such, but at least it will be a product that I'm completely satisfied with.

With that being said, Im very tempted to take advantage of the 20% off 3DRs website right now, BUT...