Hello from Southwest Florida

Reaction score
Hi from a female Solo user from the Gulf Coast. Like @Perry Lawrence, I seem to be blessed with a multitude of area airports near me, but particularly hospitals with heliports. Must have something to do with the multitude of old people in FL... not me of course. ;)

I've been researching drones (Phantom, Walkera, then 3DR) for nearly 4 years but finally pulled the trigger when Solos were reduced to $600. As a matter of fact, pulled that trigger twice. Have been lurking on this forum off and on for a year I think, but signed up recently.

My background is in electronics and media production, including video production, so I am ready to grab some shots with these new Solos. Always liked to incorporate jib shots in the studio and out, and the Solo is the ultimate jib. I'm also a tinkerer, so don't mind modifying these things. Just a shame that the payload and flight time is so little. I actually seem to tinker, more than fly - though some of the forum tinkerer's information is way beyond my skillset.

I have several GoPros; seem to need them for my toys and hobbies... bicycling, boating, shooting, my drone, and my 3D setup (that I am still experimenting with)... So many hobbies, so little time...

My town has quite a bit of water around, including the canal behind my house. As a matter of fact, there is the Gulf of Mexico, a major FL river and then within my city... 400 miles of canals, so... it's a little nerve-racking flying and considering the possibilities of a flyaway. I've attached the Marco Polo trackers but they won't help me in 10' of water. In the meantime, I practice over land and hope the Solo stays over land until I'm ready.

I am former Navy and now in the Coast Guard Auxiliary and see some value in SAR (Search and Rescue) missions with the new FLIR gimbal and camera setup. I have FLIR on my boat, but would hate to accidentally dunk the Solo and $4500 worth of FLIR and gimbal into the drink.