Welcome to 3DRPilots.com

Sign up and join the largest 3D Robotics drone community!

GoPro pink corner fix

Discussion in 'GoPro/GoPro Gimbal' started by JelleNL, Dec 7, 2015.

  1. JelleNL

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2015
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    3
    I've got the Hero 4 Black and modded the lens to a 5.4mm one. Getting good footage (except for the weird flares) but I have the infamous pink corners. I understand that this is an issue due to a lens profile that GoPro installs in the camera for the stock lens. Peau Productions claims they can remove this profile so the pink corners go away, but sending in the camera from outside the US will be very costly an inconvenient. Since this is some kind of firmware hack it must be possible to do ourselves, right? I've tried to find out how, but I couldn't find the final answer. Anyone here know how to do this on a Hero 4 on latest firmware?

    Service: Remove GoPro Lens Profile (No Pink Corners) – Peau Productions


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  2. Ian [P13]

    Joined:
    May 5, 2015
    Messages:
    856
    Likes Received:
    666
    This needs a GoPro beta firmware, it's likely to be easier to find a Unicorn than a copy of a GoPro beta.

    I've created a LUT and I've posted somewhere on this forum so use the search for it. The LUT reduces magenta is the highlights (the magenta/pink is usually most noticeable in the highlights within the sky). The LUT was done against Protune footage.
     
  3. Soloing

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2015
    Messages:
    185
    Likes Received:
    41
    I always wondered the same. There must be another way, other than sending it in to peau productions. Did you look on torrent sites? Someone must have that GoPro beta.
     
  4. Ian [P13]

    Joined:
    May 5, 2015
    Messages:
    856
    Likes Received:
    666
    I've turned the internet upside down and backwards looking for a beta but with no joy. There's people with betas but all under NDA so they don't tend to leak.
     
  5. JelleNL

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2015
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    3
    So is the procedure to install a beta, do the firmware fix and then update to latest again? Otherwise the GoPro won't work with Solo right?

    BTW, what's a LUT? Is it like a photoshop adjustment layer?


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  6. Soloing

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2015
    Messages:
    185
    Likes Received:
    41
    I see. That sucks. I do a little search later myself. Maybe I have the magic touch, ha ha.
     
    Ian [P13] likes this.
  7. Ian [P13]

    Joined:
    May 5, 2015
    Messages:
    856
    Likes Received:
    666
    With the beta you can create an autoexec file with specific settings one of which turns off the lens profile. I'm assuming once turned off it stays off, so when you update the firmware in future it'd be fine.

    KonradIT/autoexechack · GitHub

    The problem is to run an autoexec file needs a beta...

    A LUT is a lookup file for colours, so can be used in Photoshop, Premiere and most other editing software on the PC or Mac.
     
  8. Soloing

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2015
    Messages:
    185
    Likes Received:
    41
    Ha ha, I did a little search and found this:

    KonradIT (Konrad Iturbe) · GitHub

    No idea if it was if any use, but I can see you pointed out the "same" thing.

    So is a beta somewhere in this github thing or what?
     
  9. Ian [P13]

    Joined:
    May 5, 2015
    Messages:
    856
    Likes Received:
    666
    No it's not there. This site has hacks you can run once you've tracked down a beta.
     
  10. Soloing

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2015
    Messages:
    185
    Likes Received:
    41
    What the heck???
     
  11. pyrate

    Joined:
    May 4, 2015
    Messages:
    3,669
    Likes Received:
    1,409
    Location:
    Frisco Texas
    yep it seems you would need to unpack the gopro firmware and on some file in there is this statement
    CONFIG_LENS_OEM = y

    This needs to be somehow set to n
    but cant figure out how to do it
     
  12. Ian [P13]

    Joined:
    May 5, 2015
    Messages:
    856
    Likes Received:
    666
    Yes that's my understanding too.

    This looks like a tool for unpacking the firmware, so let's see if any of us can figure this out. Last one to hack the lens profile on the GoPro is a muppet. ;):)

    AFT - Ambarella Firmware Toolbox
     
  13. pyrate

    Joined:
    May 4, 2015
    Messages:
    3,669
    Likes Received:
    1,409
    Location:
    Frisco Texas
    Who are our resident propeller heads?
    of course then we have to find a brave soul who will flash their camera with it once modified
     
  14. Soloing

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2015
    Messages:
    185
    Likes Received:
    41
    I believe I know the right guy for the job... let me see what he says.

    I would try it, no problem.
     
    Ian [P13] likes this.
  15. Soloing

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2015
    Messages:
    185
    Likes Received:
    41
    OK, I send my friend Mark Zuckerberg an email. He is pretty good with this kind of stuff. He told me once he started a website and it was all about coding, so I assume he is the right guy for the task. I forgot the name of the website though...
     
    Ian [P13] and Steven Ackerman like this.
  16. Soloing

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2015
    Messages:
    185
    Likes Received:
    41
    All jokes aside, I just email Konrad himself and I got a reply back right away... He said that you DO NOT need a beta firmware to do the mod!!!

    thanks.
     
  17. pyrate

    Joined:
    May 4, 2015
    Messages:
    3,669
    Likes Received:
    1,409
    Location:
    Frisco Texas
    do tell, then how do we make the change?
     
    Ian [P13] likes this.
  18. Soloing

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2015
    Messages:
    185
    Likes Received:
    41
    I have no clue. I asked him if there is a tutorial on how to do it, but didn't hear back from him yet.
     
  19. SteveReno

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2015
    Messages:
    1,730
    Likes Received:
    720
    Location:
    'Sparkling City by the Sea"
    Sounds all good, if it could be done, but then you're also going to have to do the lens swap your self "Not to send it in", so if your planing to it all your self, then this is the way to go.
    Just mentioning this, cause it's looks a little complicated to the swap.
    Has anyone done the lens swap without any problems?
     
  20. Soloing

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2015
    Messages:
    185
    Likes Received:
    41
    I changed the lens on my GP4Blk to a 5.4mm and it was a piece of cake.