First Video! Harrison River, British Columbia

Reaction score
This is my very first practice video. :) No gimbal yet, of course, but I wanted to get some practice flying and also see how stable I could make the shots without it. The winds weren't too strong, which helped, along with Final Cut Pro X stabilization.

Some of this video isn't the smoothest footage I got, but some of the smoothest shots weren't ones I was interested in including in the video. ;-)

Shot over the Harrison River in the beautiful Fraser Valley, Harrison Mills, BC, Canada on July 28, 2015, overlooking Mt. Woodside.

To view this content we will need your consent to set third party cookies.
For more detailed information, see our cookies page.

I used the following settings, most of which I've seen recommended for smooth video, especially for a beginner, like me (this is my very first quad, and I have zero RC experience).

3DR SOLO QUADCOPTER:
Performance: Flight: Slow
Performance: Camera Pan: Slow
Advanced Flight Modes: Disabled
Take-off: Automatic (sped up 150% in FCPX)
Landing: Automatic (Return Home)
Cable Cam Shot: 1:14 - 2:05 (sped up 226% in FCPX)
Cable Cam Shot: 2:12 - 2:38 (actual speed)

GoPro HERO 3+ BLACK EDITION:
Video Resolution: 1080
Frames Per Second: 60
Field of View: Medium
NEUTRAL DENSITY FILTER: ND8

Nice video. I am brand new to quad's also. You are a lotter braver than I flying around all those trees. Watch the RTH. If those trees are 50 ft and in the way your Solo will have a nasty crash. Fly safe.

Watch the RTH. If those trees are 50 ft and in the way your Solo will have a nasty crash. Fly safe.