Welcome to 3DRPilots.com

Sign up and join the largest 3D Robotics drone community!

  1. Pedals2Paddles

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2016
    Messages:
    2,220
    Likes Received:
    1,203
    If you have a maximum distance set, or any geofence set, it won't arm without a GPS fix. It can't because it needs a location to establish the fence. Set the distance for unlimited and don't enable any geofences.
     
    tinker bot likes this.
  2. tinker bot

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2017
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    It was the distance limit. I set the distance limit to zero and the problems gone now :) Thank you for your help.
     
  3. Pedals2Paddles

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2016
    Messages:
    2,220
    Likes Received:
    1,203
    You're welcome. I'm guessing you're using Solex since the distance fence isn't in the Solo app?
     
    tinker bot likes this.
  4. tinker bot

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2017
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yep. I guess I never tried to arm it inside the house after I started using Solex, but after I did the upgrade my first thought was to try & see if things seemed to be working by trying to Arm it.

    Any idea how to down grade if I have any real issues?
     
    #424 tinker bot, Apr 1, 2017
    Last edited: Apr 1, 2017
  5. speatuk

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2015
    Messages:
    397
    Likes Received:
    105
    Completely the same process with the different version of software.

    Don't delete anything just as above but with 1.3.1
     
    tinker bot likes this.
  6. cryhavoc38

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2017
    Messages:
    164
    Likes Received:
    42
    you shouldn't have to downgrade for any reason. I've been running 1.5.3 since it was released and its super stable and the craft, coupled with the mro gps, the solo v2 shield is just rock solid. I can fly the darn thing surrounded by close in hills, houses and tree's and it maintains a solid lock on sats, and an hdop below 1 even when down low and a limited view of the sky.

    the mRO gps module and the solo v2 shield are a must do upgrade in my opinion
     
    carpy and Stealth like this.
  7. tinker bot

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2017
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Does the v2 shield really make a difference with mRo, which I have, along with a plastic version of the cardboard mod and the original Shield?
     
  8. DJMc

    Joined:
    May 2, 2016
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    19
    I think the shield V2 is a bespoke RF absorbing material, where as the cardboard mod was to prevent shorting of the copper shield. I'm guessing the bespoke V2 material is used as it's better in terms of RF than the copper, as well as just not risking shorting. Unfortunately I did the mRo and V2 replacement together so couldn't say what the V2 contributes - just that as you know the mRO really is a confidence booster, quick fix, no drop outs to date. Much more relaxing flying out knowing a simultaneous WiFi and GPS loss is less likely - I went 230m out to sea recently without even breaking into a sweat!
     
  9. tinker bot

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2017
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah I think I should do it, just to gain more confidence in my Solo. Ive already done the WiFi, antenna, and GPS upgrades so I might as well do the shield v2. Besides I'm already due to order some more 3D printed parts from the printathing's printing partner & and you save $10 per item on the setup if you print items with the same specs all on one order. So I guess I'll order the shield from 3dr and The Shield/mRo 3d printed mounting plate.
     
  10. Pedals2Paddles

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2016
    Messages:
    2,220
    Likes Received:
    1,203
    The isolation plates and cardboard were there to prevent what some people experienced... poor GPS performance due to the copper shield touching various surface mounted components of the GPS. If you are not using the the copper shield, then the isolation plates and cardboard server zero functional purpose. The v2 shield replaces the copper shield. Ergo, no need for an isolation plate or piece of cardboard.
     
  11. tinker bot

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2017
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well thanks for the response, I saw somebody online you them both and I was a bit confused.
     
  12. mudbeast66

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2017
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    1
    I love this forum and you guys for all your knowledge. So I updated to the 1.5.2 yesterday afternoon at work since I needed a break. Updated successfully and was extremely happy. Now the fun part, took the ol bird up for a test flight. Everything went perfect. Came in to land and a gust of wind came and was in the process of blowing the drone into my boss's truck " I actually landed too close anyway", instincts said stop it before my brain said not with your hand stupid.

    As forest gump says, "I'm not a smart man"

    ugggggggggggg
     

    Attached Files:

  13. speatuk

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2015
    Messages:
    397
    Likes Received:
    105
    Lucky it's only a cut.
     
    mudbeast66 likes this.
  14. mudbeast66

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2017
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    1
    Is there a way to check the firmware version you are flying with? After installing say 1.5.2, how to verify that it took?
     
  15. speatuk

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2015
    Messages:
    397
    Likes Received:
    105
    Look in the iOS or android solo app under settings, system info. Tells you the versions of software for the solo, controller, gimbal etc
     
    #435 speatuk, Apr 7, 2017
    Last edited: Apr 7, 2017
  16. speatuk

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2015
    Messages:
    397
    Likes Received:
    105
  17. speatuk

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2015
    Messages:
    397
    Likes Received:
    105
    Btw 1.5.3 is the latest stable
     
    mudbeast66 likes this.
  18. mudbeast66

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2017
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    1
    Thanks, I will go check that out. I knew there had to be an easy way. See, I wasn't firing on all cylinders yesterday. LOL

    EDIT.......
    I guess I did load it correctly. At least I did something correctly, Just not the stopping a prop with your finger......... LOL
     
    #438 mudbeast66, Apr 7, 2017
    Last edited: Apr 7, 2017
    speatuk likes this.