Abject failure so far

K

kevcdecker

Got my Solo yesterday. Unboxed it, charged up the batteries, and downloaded the app to my iPhone. First off, I couldn't even register on the 3DR site. It kept saying unsuccessful registration.

Secondly, and more problematic, the controller boots up to the preflight update screen and hangs. No way to turn it off except to remove the battery. Tried the factory reset procedure several times. Same result.

Finally, I tried to mount my GoPro Hero 5 Black in the gimbal. Found out it doesn't fit.

So far this whole experience has been a complete waste of time and very disappointing.

The gimbal isn't made to work with the Hero 5, just the 3 & 4.

Kev(in?), I'm a Solo noob too... ordered my (outrageously cheap) solo last Tuesday and received it Friday. In the meantime I also discovered that I needed to upgrade the GPS (ordered), and then Friday I found out that both my android device and iPhone were too old to use with the solo, so spent some more on a Galaxy Tab. I'm also not able to register with 3dr (keeps throwing a json error for either Facebook or Google+). Anyway, I did get connected and out for a short flight today.

Preflight update... that's a required update I believe - you won't be able to fly until you complete it. I didn't try shutting down before completing it so can't help you with that... but I think you HAVE to do it before being allowed to do anything else.

Guys....you can no longer register with 3DR. They turned that off. That's one more issue solved. :)

I figured that was it... I suspect when you pay less than the manufacturing cost for something you're probably not going to get the most stellar service. ;-)

Reactions: DaveB
Seriously? I'm the last one to defend 3DR but complaining that you can't use a camera that is not listed in any description, on any website? That's like being mad that you can't use diesel fuel in your non diesel car or that you can't use IOS on your Android tablet.